If I Had a Hammer

I held the defunct hard drive, looking at it and wondering how to safely dispose of it. If I had a hammer I could smash it into oblivion. If I had a tub of acid I could reduce it to liquid. If I had a fireplace I could burn it beyond use. But I have none of those things, so what am I going to do with this damn thing?

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “if I had a hammer.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

3 thoughts on “If I Had a Hammer”

  1. He looked at me
    With that haunting look in his eye

    It echoed for ages
    I couldn’t escape his gaze

    And as he lunged
    My mind quickly rung

    with “what if’s.”

    If I had a hammer

    I’d drive it straight into the ground

    Deep, til it touches the earth.

  2. It goes without saying that for me the phrase “If I had a hammer” conjures up the famous trio of Peter, Paul and Mary, and of course, their famous song with that title. But if I had a hammer, I would like it to have the same mystical powers as that of Thor’s hammer, Mjölnir. I’d certainly be a force to be reckoned with…

  3. The problem is that having a hammer does nothing for me. If I had one I’d probably find someone or a charity to benefit from its possession. On the other hand I might write a haiku based on wanting to dispose of a hammer. My hypothetical hammer wouldn’t be too well used; therefore would retain some varnish on the wood and brightness on the metal. ‘Could become part of a still life or even re-gifted. At any rate it wouldn’t stay around long; I’m an evolutionist.

An open space for your story

