Family Dinner

If I could find enough bread and peanut butter to feed myself and my little brother that was family dinner. Our mother would be on the couch passed out. Sometimes she had some money in her bag. We’d take it and go to the food mart in the gas station to get milk and bread and cereal. Sometimes they had bananas. That was a good day.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “family dinner.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

3 thoughts on “Family Dinner”

  1. “I don’t know why she can’t just eat her dinner,” Juliette crows, her eyes spitting fire at my six-year old face. “I slave in that kitchen for ages, and the brat won’t sit still long enough to eat it. Stop playing with your food, Katrina!”
    I slowly drop my fork.

  2. Family dinner, as we used to know it, is practically non-existent in today’s society. With the advent of smartphones, tablets and the like a lot of people are more engaged with these devices during dinner than actually enjoying dinner and the company of their family. Stop the world, I wanna get off!

  3. “We are having a family dinner next sunday.”
    This declaration was greeted with a shocked silence.
    Then a storm of protests broke out.
    “Does this mean I have to share my ipad with Anusha the twit.?”
    “No way , Mama, There is a repeat telecast of “Prisoner of Azkaban”, and Ayush is again going to ruin it by flying his wretched aeroplane in my face .Last weekend, by the time I rescued it from the curtain loops, my “Dark Knight “was over.
    “Look,I am in no way responsible for the sulkiness of your sister Mona, and I am definitely not going to apologize to her dimwit husband, Harry the hairy, for not calling him up even once last week. So don’t make me.” This from the head of my family. Sigh.
    Please ask Aunt Mona not to bring those rock-hard home made cookies, please.Even if I forgive her, my friends won’t.Two of the guys lost their premolars to those stones.”
    “Stealers of your tiffin , you mean.”
    “Whatever.”
    “This is a very bad idea.”
    “Can’t you somehow cancel it ? You could say we are all down with conjunctivitis or some such contagion?”
    “Okay, okay calm down. For heaven’s sake, it is just a dinner. They will be here at 8 and be gone by 10.”
    “And leave us shattered…”
    “And toothless..”
    “Don’t forget my missed movie….”

An open space for your story

