A Cup of Broth

Carol sat down at the computer with a cup of warm broth. She opened her email and began to read. She heard a noise and looked around. There was a bear cub looking at her. It must have come in through the dog door. Carol wondered where her dog was. Roaring and scratching came from the kitchen and Carol jumped up. She tried to shoo the cub toward . . .

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “a cup of broth.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

8 thoughts on “A Cup of Broth”

  1. “A cup of both,” I said again to the man who stood in Mrs. Pappas’ doorway staring at me, “I’m making lemon chicken and I don’t have any broth & Mrs. Pappas…”

    “Broth,” he said, as if coming out of a trance, but not saying where Mrs. Pappas was or who he was, “yeah, come in, I’ll see if there’s any broth in the kitchen.”

    Reluctantly, I followed him into the house. “Is Mrs. Pappas home?” I asked, moving into the living room.

    “She’s around here somewhere,” he said, “let’s see if we can find that broth”. I heard some things being knocked around in the kitchen.

  2. Green or red, chile will always feel like home. No matter where I am in the world, if I add a cup of green chile to a cup of broth or red chile into a marinade, I am home. Across the globe, I can hear my mama, “Te amo, Mi hija.”

  3. After years of being busy, I am finally getting a chance to go fishing. My childhood fishing hole has always been a secret place to get away from it all. Miles from the nearest road, with nary a noise to bother. On staring into the water my head spins and my stomach flips, the water is a cup of broth. Filled with chemical foams and hell knows what else. Even if fish lived in these waters, I would not be willing to eat them.

  4. No one in my family appreciates broth, bowl OR cup. I suppose it reminds them of being in the hospital and seriously sick enough to be under orders for clear liquids only. As for me, a cup of broth is welcome, especially in cold weather. It’s friendly; it adapts well to being paired with orzo pasta or egg noodles. It’s especially good in its role of egg drop soup. Cold weather, you no longer threaten me. I have broth and inside warmth.

  5. BROTH – the word immediately brings back memories of being cared for as a child when not feeling well. Now that I’ve grown up, during times of illness, stress, exhaustion, something motivates me to take the time to savor steaming broth served in my favorite blue and white bowl. Not to be omitted is the intense pleasure I take in preparing broth every fall to freeze. When the need arises, I’m ready. Using all fresh vegetables from my garden makes this broth especially yummy. Yummy for the soul, for the tummy, or for the throat. The fragrance rising from my large stew pot as I simmer garlic, onion, carrots, celery, fresh parsley, and other herbs is an experience in itself as I saute, stir, and sniff. Aaah. Any bits of chicken lying about are thrown in. Delicious spring water from my well makes this superb. I love the ways in which you can embellish your broth: egg noodles, rice, drop in a raw egg and gently blend, sprinkle parmesan cheese and freshly ground pepper. Add hot pepper sauce, grated ginger – whatever you like will give it your own twist. Never fails to satisfy.

  6. A cup of broth was all Andrea’s stomach could tolerate at this time. The nausea and vomiting had finally subsided, but the headache and joint pain were still present. She was into the fifth day of having contracted dengue fever, and all she could think about was the doctor’s words resonating in her head: ‘It’s also known as the breakbone disease.’

    She definitely felt as if her whole body was fractured. If only she had applied the insect repellent spray when she ventured out on the mountain hiking trip in El Yunque, she would be enjoying more of Puerto Rico now…

  7. A Cup of Broth may be all you need to make the food better. What an outstanding approach. Sometimes our daily lives need something similar to a cup of broth to become enhanced. Before giving up on your endeavors sit down and think about the cup of broth you need.

  8. A Cup of Broth may be all you need to make the food better. What an outstanding approach. Sometimes our daily lives need something similar to a cup of broth to become enhanced. Before giving up on your endeavors sit down and think about the cup of broth you need.

An open space for your story

