The Eye of a Needle

“He stitched me up with fishing line,” was the line. I looked at the writer and asked, “Where would someone get a needle with an eye large enough for fishing line in the middle of nowhere?”

The writer shrugged, “Willing suspension of disbelief? We have to think of a way for him to save you somehow.”

“I’m supposed to be willing to believe that someone has a needle in their fishing tackle?” I asked. The directed cleared her throat and said, ” . . . ”

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “the eye of a needle.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

7 thoughts on “The Eye of a Needle”

  1. Why, oh why would I write about the eye of a needle? I have no desire to top all the preachers and teachers of the biblical usage which of course drags in a geographic reference. I’m old and have shaky hands. I don’t sew any more. I no longer even have needles, so their eyes are of no interest. I can’t even muster enough to conjure up some nonsensical tale of a needle’s eye ala Dr. Seuss.

  2. “It’s like this. He’s really a milliner, but goes fishing in his spare time. When there are few bites, he makes hats. Just sits there by the river and snip, snip, snip, sews on feathers…you know, wagon wheel hats women wear at Ascot. Sells his hats for a fortune. Anyway, there you have it. Big needles. Big hats. Big Heart.”

  3. My maternal grandmother had been a dress maker in her younger days, and when I was a child I would watch her do the household sewing. By then she had the requesite vision problems of old age, her body was riddled with arthritis, & she was always tired from chemo (for the cancer that had started in her breasts, metastatized, and was eating her from within). Was a real struggle for her to even DO the household sewing. If you’ve never done anything sewing, let me tell you the eye of a needle is tiny. Getting the thread through there requires eyesight and hand-eye coordinaton. By the time I was five, threading the needle for grandma became my job.

  4. I never knew it was alive. I must have killed hundreds of them in the past. I know my ignorance is not an excuse, but to be fair they caused me severe pain and caused a fair amount of blood loss. It was not until I saw the eye of a needle staring at me that I realized my error. in the eye I could see his anger and fear of me, the destroyer of their kind.

  5. I remember a passage from the Bible that stated: “And again I say unto you, It is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle, than for a rich man to enter into the kingdom of God.” I recently found out this was a common mode of expression among the Jewish people to declare any thing that was rare or difficult. I guess it would be comparable to the vernacular of finding a needle in a hay stack or a black cat in a coal cellar. Who knew?

  6. Jim Corbett, the great conservationist , had this story to narrate of rural Central Provinces, during the British Raj.
    A village chief, a friend of Jim’s , was known for his unconventional methods of healing people. Once , a man-eating tiger attacked another man , who was gathering honey in the forest, and was left for dead on the forest floor.
    The family and friends of this man came running to the village chief, to his hut where he sat smoking his hubble-bubble.
    The chief went over to the clearing in the forest , and found the victim , on the forest floor, his guts spilled, from a gash in the abdomen, gasping and bleeding like hell.
    Legend says this chief, stitched his abdomen up, right there, using a thorn for needle,and green tree bark for thread.
    There was , of course, no eye in the needle.

An open space for your story

