I hope

Have you read Collapse: How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed? I read it some time ago. At first I saw some parallels between societies that fail and the US. As time has gone by the the country’s political climate and income disparity grow, I see more and more. I hope our country can avoid the collapse described in this book. I hope.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “I hope.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

6 thoughts on “I hope”

  1. I hope you realize I was being honest and genuine when I laughed at your jokes, when I smiled at you. I hope you know I meant it when I said you were “such a gentleman” as we strolled by the water. That kind of openness and honesty is new to me. There was a time I would’ve not even bothered to tell you my name, I would’ve performed a sex act on you and been gone, leaving you to wonder who I was. But I’m a sober woman now, I’ve faced my demons & I embrace honesty in all my affairs. You, apparently do not, as I now sit here waiting where you said you would be.

  2. The word “hope” for me conjures up things surrounding life, aliveness, reaching out/in, support of all kinds. For me to say “I hope….” builds strength, courage, confidence and determination. It’s a call from the future, a bridge from now to tomorrow. “I hope….” an evolutionary phase. Yes, I hope.

  3. With yet another US Presidential election looming, I hope that we are not headed towards ‘The Handmaid’s Tale’. I guess it really depends on who we elect. I can only hope that we make the right choice.

  4. Hope. The dynamic concept that each and everyone of us harbors. It is, by its very nature, akin to a sense of trust and future expectation. We all hope for things in life, and all of these things tend to be things that will enhance our lives with a positive outcome. These results change how we live our lives, how we view ourselves and our values by making us strong, courageous and bold. I’m sure we’ve all heard it many times, but the last thing that’s always lost is hope.

  5. I am sure of many things in life. The key factor I am sure is that I hope for a consistent, positive and favorable progress to life. At times, this can be tested when I hear of friends and family developing cancer. In the last few years, I have lost three friends to cancer. One beautiful relative passed away due to a staph infection. Almost lost a daughter to an obscure auto-immune disorder. Despite this, my family and I carry on. Likely due to this I have started writing the ideas that have been festering in my mind for years. I carry on because I hope.

  6. In the midst of blistering summer noon , I hope for rain,
    In the thick of wrenching sorrow, I hope for no pain,
    When confronted with insurmountable loss, I hope for gain,
    Faced with poverty and famine, I hope for riches and grain,
    Such dismal thoughts do, indeed, my spirit drain …………………..

An open space for your story

