Where Are You?

As soon as she says, “Hello,” she says, “Where are you?” I guess in the old days, when you got a phone call from someone, you knew they were at home. So you could ask them, “How are you?” Granny gets nervous about phone calls now. You never know where people are. My dad called her from a hot air balloon once. Really freaked her out. She always thinks I’m out with hooligans driving too fast when I call her.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “where are you?”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

5 thoughts on “Where Are You?”

  1. “Where are you,” he said into the phone, “you’re not at your mother’s house.”

    “That’s true,” I said, “I’m not at my mother’s house, “I’m somewhere else. Not that it’s any of your goddamn business.”

    “We’re still man and wife,” he said tersely, “where you are is ALWAYS my business.”

    “Nope,” I said, “where I am stopped being your business when you brought a prostitute into our bed.

    “You’re always at work,” he said, “I’m a man and I have needs. Now where the hell are you?”

    “I’m on the roof of our apartment building. Happy now?”

  2. “You are here” is answer to “Where are you?” and situates me right in the center of things. I am near the entrance to the mall. I am the at the top of an airport escalator. I am at a turning point in the zoo. I show up as an X on a map in a Rest Area on a cross country highway. if I really think about it I am definitely a small light on planet Earth and an even tinier one seen from outer space. The point of all this is that the real answer to “Where are you?” is that I am here; there; everywhere and I am there all at once.

  3. Suddenly, a seemingly innocuous phone conversation took a bizarre turn.
    “Why are you still wearing the same old red sweater ?”
    A shiver ran down my spine . How could he see me ?
    I scanned the glass windows , in front of my building . God!! He could see me !
    “Where are you ?” Panic crept into my voice .
    Gratified , he chuckled .
    Beads of sweat appeared on my brow, despite the air-conditioning.

  4. “I just don’t know if I can stay awake through the rest of this.”
    “What are you talking about the movie is interesting enough.”
    “Not really my thing. She is just blocking herself, by the end they will be together.”
    “Where are you?”
    “What?”
    “I don’t think we are watching the same movie. He s looking for the rogue robot.”
    “Yeah, but the psychiatrist is his romantic interest.”
    “That is a minor subplot at best.”
    “Sorry, it was the most interesting part of the movie.”

  5. I have not thought about this concept too much, the where are you habit of a parent or grand.
    The fiirst thing that comes to mind, however, is my mom towards the end of her life when she would have bouts and need to go to the hospital. She would call to inform me and did it by saying, “Hello, dear. Guess where I am.”
    That became a dead give-away for her whereabouts, from then on.

An open space for your story

