Goodbye

So many goodbyes. That’s really what getting old is about – saying goodbye. Goodbye to parties on Saturday nights in favor of an evening in your jammies by the fire. Goodbye to friends, family, pets. Everything passes before you. Goodbye to sex, drugs and rock and roll – instead savoring a good cup of tea as the treat of the day. Goodbye to work and busy schedules of someone else’s choosing.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “goodbye.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

11 thoughts on “Goodbye”

  1. I never use the word goodbye it is a word i don,t relish i believe there is such a link between us all that we will meet up again some where and spirit keeps those we love with us forever. Goodbye is saying that is the end but its not.

  2. I don’t often use the word “goodbye”. For me, “goodbye” sounds so goddamn FINAL, like you’re never going to see that person again. I say “good evening”, “good night”, “good morning” (well, OK, I’m not really a morning person, but I’m getting off topic with that),I say “good riddance” to people I dislike to the point I don’t WISH to encounter them again. I have lunch with my friend on Tuesday, and then I say, “I’ll see you Saturday” (we lunch again on Saturday) but I don’t actually say goodbye to anyone.

  3. I like your thoughts about good-bye. I am in my second trimester of life and what you have said is true. This summer, I had to say good-bye to my darling ninety-three year old mother who was whisked to heaven in a mere thirty six hours. It was a traumatic and disturbing parting for all of us who love her. But her good-bye was really a hello— for her. In the last four hours of her life, she watched the ceiling in her ICU room and raised her arms upward, eyes wide. I know she saw real people or the Lord Himself welcoming her. Your thoughts state that one goodbye is another hello. Very well written!

  4. Of all the usages of the word, most have a depressed feeling to them. I only know of one scene in a movie that used it in a way that I came away from with a positive feeling. You, of course, deserve a reward if you said the goodbye song from The Sound of Music. I prefer the term, “See you later.” It just doesn’t carry all the baggage.

  5. Finality of a goodbye lies in our own finite perception of life.
    The Vedic philosophy believes in continuity of life, in one form or the other. Old leaves are shed, they fall to the ground, rot and provide nourishment to the roots of a tree , that sprouts new leaves. In nature, all life is cyclical and regenerates into newer forms of life.
    Goodbyes are transient, and fleeting .
    There are no final goodbyes.

  6. My favorite use of the term “Goodbye” is on a busy highway. Picture this: i’m driving in the left lane behind a construction truck or freight truck. ‘Can’t see around it or through its windows. I don’t move into the next lane though, because from experience I figure it’ll make a left turn to move on to its destination. An intersection with another highway appears; is it the one? Yes! The truck driver skillfully maneuvers his vehicle out of my sight. “Goo-bye, Jack!” is my joyful refrain – a thanksgiving that the road is now mine again. Loving it….

  7. I think that is why the ‘fountain of youth’ is still earnestly searched. I am mid 40s but notice so many of my high school friends have passed away. Most of them sudden deaths. But I also know so many centurions who remain active and live in their own homes. These centurions really have outlived their friends and most family (siblings, close cousins). The worst thing for me is Christmas …it makes me sad every year because Christmas often reminds us that we have said goodbye to our parents and most of the people who used to share Christmas with us are gone, whether deceased or moved away. Now, Christmases are spend travelling to someplace new and pretty. Goodbyes are so final. The closing of chapters. And not all chapters have a new page to follow.

  8. She had really cared about him. But he walked away without saying goodbye. He didn’t even care. She knew it would hurt,but it was okay. She was the queen of unrequited love. She didn’t have people that stayed for long. Goodbyes were common. Sadly. The worst thing? The ones that were left unsaid.

An open space for your story

