Just for You

He flirted a bit with the women customers. He was young, handsome, and had a great smile. He knew what the women liked, especially the older ones. He let them haggle a bit over the rings and bracelets on his blanket-covered table. When he knew they were ready to be nudged. He said, “Just for you, I could take a bit less.” His smile indicated sexual promise. And they always bought. His profit margin was tremendous.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “just for you.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

4 thoughts on “Just for You”

  1. “….Just for you” These delightful words aren’t heard enough these days and when they are, often they don’t convey generosity, gifting or any other thing emanating from solidarity, reaching out. A lesson to be taken from this then is that it behooves me to engage in generous solidarity and reach out to gift another or others in a just-for-you manner. I have a hunch that’s behind what Pope Francis is trying to say when he pressures for church assets to be put at the service of Syrian (and other refugees). Just for you… beautiful.

  2. I was only thirteen years old. Playing hide and seek in the neighborhood junior high school yard after school hours. Who would think the old school janitor afflicted with crossed eyes would say, “I have a hiding place, JUST FOR YOU!” Always taught to respect the elderly and to have sympathy with anyone who looked different than others made me automatically run over to him. After all, I trusted him. I always smiled and said hello when I passed him in the hallways during school hours. He motioned to me to hide behind him in a corner. I ducked behind his back. Suddenly, he began to move his hips back and forth while placing his hands behind him on my hips. I almost immediately pushed him away. Somehow I instinctively knew this was bad. I felt betrayed, I felt dirty. There were times when, because I was an insecure gawky and freckle-faced young girl, I doubted what had happened. I couldn’t believe it! I couldn’t tell anyone!

An open space for your story

