Take a Hike

She sat at the bar and ordered a brandy. She sat quietly, making no eye contact and looking only at her drink. Yet a man slid in beside her, too close, and breathed boozy air in her direction as he said, “Hello, beautiful. How about I buy you another one of those?”

She didn’t look up. She said, “Take a hike,” and sipped at her brandy.

He didn’t leave. Of course it was what he wanted, not what she wanted that mattered. He leaned even closer. “Ah, sweetheart, don’t be like that.”

Finally she turned to look in his eyes. A quick jab with her elbow took away his breath and he doubled over. When he could breath again he muttered, “Bitch!” But he left.

Please leave your first 50 words on the topic “take a hike.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

5 thoughts on “Take a Hike”

  1. Finally the beauty of Fall has begun to show itself locally. In the past my normal response has been to take a hike through the woods or the neighborhood simply to saturate myself in the color of trees, with their falling leaves gradually covering the ground and also with perennials bravely standing sentinel in glorious flower uniforms trying to forestall the starkness of winter. I miss these hikes as an oldie bearing some physical infirmities. Now the words, “I’m going to take a hike” don’t mean what they used to, but I’m grateful for good memories and I’m grateful to be able to wander the same paths by car and with others. Today is a gorgeous day. It’s one on which I intend to take a hike for pure enjoyment, so I’ll call an end to this paragraph.

  2. We took ten grueling days to investigate the house. Could it be the second home we’d hoped for in a cozy county in Michigan? At the end of a six week hunt for just that right possibility, it was a serendipitous discovery.
    Hours were spent on the phone and computer, lining up contractors to investigate the exterior paint job and condition of its porches. A management company had to be priced out, and taxes explored, Rental insurance figures were obtained, comparing large differences between them. Once that was all computed, a decent fair offer was made for the house that seemed to be like no other, a unique historic home built in 1870..
    Caution is always required as one searches out a home. Logic dictates that with a reasonable seller, a decent and fair offer will be accepted. But not all home owners live in reality. Greed is alive and present in this industry. Instead of being satisfied with a profit of about six percent in one year’s time, she was out for a killing. She wanted a profit margin of over twenty-five per cent. The investment she had put into the home was far less than that besides the fact that the exterior paint job and bathrooms were not updated and its porches were failing apart.
    Besides that, Ms. Shark called for the realtor fees to be paid by the buyer and there would be no extensions of inspection time to accommodate someone living in another state.
    This made it easy for us to call it quits. She can take a hike, and good luck with finding anyone foolish enough to pay her price on top of all the renovation costs that come with the package.

  3. I sat alone at the bar, not wanting to know from anything but my glass of scotch. He didn’t care, as evidenced by the way fact that he plopped his stogie-chomping self down on the bar stool next to me. “Hey, babe,” he growled in my direction. I drank my scotch and didn’t answer him, didn’t make eye contact with him. Maybe he had two working marbles rolling around in that thick skull of his.

    “I said, Hey babe,” he said, grabbing the and that held my glass of scotch,”can you not hear me?” Well now he’d done it, he’d gone and prevented the scotch from getting into my mouth.

    “Get your hand off me,” I said, “this won’t end well for you.”
    “Sweetie,” he laughed, “I always get what I want. He gripped my arm tighter.

    “Hey man,” Otto the barman said, “just take a hike, for your own good.”
    “I’m talking to the lady,” he said, “maybe she and I will have time to hike the nature trails after breakfast tomorrow.”

    “Ain’t gonna happen,” Otto said, “see the lady’s my wife, and if you don’t get your hand off her within two seconds I’m reaching under the bar and get my gun. I got no problem shooting you in the chest and saying you tried to rob the place, y’understand. Now, for the second and LAST FUCKING TIME, take a hike man, for your own good.”

    He let go my arm and glared at Otto. “Well ya shouldn’t let your wife sit in a bar room!” And with that, he left.

  4. What better time of the year to take a hike than autumn? All the lovely colors assault one’s eyes. The sound of leaves softly whispering as they fall onto the ground create a quiet cathedral in the forest. I love the hushed crunch of the leaves as I walk along a trail. I love the special fall scent in the air. It’s always fascinating to see views that were hidden by the summer’s full foliage. Now that the trees are fairly bare it’s as if one is taking a brand new trail. At the end of my hike I always experienced a sweet melancholy feeling; a sadness to see yet another season pass. Like so many others, various physical changes prevent my doing much hiking these days. I can’t complain because I’m lucky enough to be able to summon up beautiful memories of many wonderful hikes throughout New England.

  5. “Grr. I have had enough. Take a hike, you lousy waste of time and space.” Thus began the purge of the things and activities taking over my life. I flushed it all away. Quit cold turkey. After a scant few days, I was amazed how stopping all video game playing, twittering, web-browsing and other activities freed up so much time. After a few weeks I found I was burnt out. Time to give up? No time to re-evaluate. Instead of giving up on everything, maybe just needed to modulate the use, or involvement in these activities. It is a constant balancing act and I tend to err on the side of allowing myself to get distracted, a bit too often, but burn out is no more desireable.

An open space for your story

