Home

I like my home to be comfortable, but I’m not much of a decorator. So any “home decor” that gets put around the place is simple and easy. I have a lot of art because I can just hang it on the wall. But things like drapes or bed coverings with tons of matching pillows get overlooked. The furniture doesn’t match and the dining room table isn’t “decorated.” But  . . .

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “home.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

5 thoughts on “Home”

  1. Home is extremely important to me. I’ve always been a “nester.” Having grown up in a cold water flat apartment house owned by my grandparents, and being surrounded by extended family, I can make any place “home.” It doesn’t have to mean the décor necessarily. Although my childhood home was very modest it was filled with warmth, vitality, and good conversation. It was tradition on Sundays that all kinds of folks would stop by my grandparents home in the afternoon. There they were offered good food, drinks aplenty, and lots of conviviality. As a child I loved to tune in to what the talk was about. It could range anywhere from politics to gardening. I’ve moved to various states and had the privilege of living in some exquisite homes. However, the only things that truly matter to me in creating my “home” is music, my art collection on the walls, some good books, flowers, and candles and last, but not least, my adopted pets. Serenity is all. I know I’ve succeeded because so many people I’ve invited to my home have expressed their feeling of peace and serenity.

  2. “Home is where the heart is.” In 2015 that statement is both evocative and a tear-jerker. Evocative because each of us can relate to it in a personal, familial or sentimental manner. Tear-jerker because, globally, the number of people without a place to call home grows enormously greater every day that passes. Different words describe this in a variety of ways: “homeless” for individuals or small related groups; “asylum seekers” for those who, if they return to their origins return to persecution of some sort or another; “refugees” for those fleeing from any kind of danger – big or small; “migrants or immigrants” for those with the possibility to make a decision as to the benefit for changing where they entrust their hearts. In the end though, the very earth – our planet – is home and should therefore be where our hearts are. As a growing number of people say, “We are all earthlings.”

  3. Home is one of the most overused words in the English language. From home is where the heart is, to homework, homeland, homesick. The meanings generally refer to a place one feels safe, but others border on catchy words for something that means removing your freedoms from you. Considering how we are marketed to, it is not a surprise that news speak has coopted the word home as well.

  4. On being asked where he lived , the boy pointed towards the dark underbelly of the over bridge .
    I peered , a pale glow from a naked bulb met my eyes , and some faint shadows. The light threw rainbow flashes around it , as I strained .
    My diabetes-afflicted eyes could take only so much and no more.
    “Show me your home .” It was a plain request, nothing political or morbidly curious. The boy spoke in bhojpuri accent , the accent of my childhood . I had to get down to the bottom of it . What was his family doing in a neighbourhood like this ?
    He dropped his outstretched hand in resignation , and shrugging his shoulders, turned, scratching his hair.Then he sprinted away, leaving me squinting in the dark. The rascal !!
    Disappointed, I turned my way, when a female voice , piped up,”Idhar aaiye”(Come here)
    The voice had a definite bhojpuri sing-song to it. I followed the sound like a beacon in the dark. I was like a blind bat. A strong odour of stale cigarettes and toddy hit my nostrils.

An open space for your story

