Peaceful Place

Imagine your peaceful place. It’s most likely a natural area: green, trees, water, blue sky, beautiful things like mountains or oceans around you. We need those things to feel calm and happy. Yet we build cities that lack the very things that might calm our minds and bring peace to our hearts. We’re doing it wrong.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “peaceful places.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

8 thoughts on “Peaceful Place”

  1. With all the turmoil in the world and negative news each morning there are times I just want to turn it all off and go hide somewhere until I can “reboot.” I live in an area of New England with a cornucopia of natural beauty. The majority of my small village is covered with water. You can pretty much take a drive anywhere and wind up with a spectacular view of a small hidden cove, a bay, or an ocean fed pond which ebbs and rises with the tides. My favorite spot, however, is arrived at by driving down a narrow winding road bordered by old pine trees and white birch. There are banks of beach roses along the road which are incredibly beautiful. Their scent fills the air and is almost overpowering. The road is a dead end and doesn’t get much traffic except during tourist season. On one side of the road I can walk along a rocky beach and look out to see a fishing boat bobbing on the horizon. White crested water hits the sandy beach. After a storm it’s interesting to see the changes in the shoreline and pick up a piece of driftwood. Exactly opposite the beach on the other side of the road there is a small well tended park area with grass paths meandering through the beach roses, and the most serene spring-fed pond. The seagulls tend to enjoy a particular area at the center of the pond where we believe the spring feeds into the pond. There are a couple of very tiny sandy areas w/ benches. You can hear the small waves lapping the beach whether you are there or at the pond. There are days when I take the dog there for her daily walk and I’m fortunate enough to be the only person in sight. I feel in tune with nature. This peaceful place almost moves me to tears with its beauty and serenity. It replenishes my soul. I am grateful.

      1. Actually for me, “home is where the heart is.” For me it kind of boils down to the pictorial starting point to finding a particular store at the Mall: “You are here….”

    1. Regina, where do you live. I love New England and have to say reading your piece made me envious. I took a bus tour through Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont and Massachusetts in 2011 right after the September attack. I think the Lord lavished a large His artistry in this part of the country. I agree with the first responder who said she wished she lived there. I share her wish, only the winters of harshness offset the ability for me to reside there. The cold affects my health adversely.
      Thanks for describing what you get to see simply by going for a short walk into the splendors of such an idyllic setting.
      I cannot complain however, for each beauty has its own sets of wonder. I live in a city surrounded by glorious blue and purple mountains, clear sunny skies, every kind of cactus and desert shrub you could want, canvas sunsets and fantastic weather that rarely chills you to the bone. Our neighborhood is not far from a ridge of foothills that pulls my spirit up to the skies. We have no beaches, oceans or lakes to admire, no trees with changing colors, but we do have some fresh water reservoir reserves nearby. Tucson, Arizona!
      It’s all good!

  2. We’re often recommended to set aside a place to pray, to contemplate, to get away from busy-ness, noise and today’s normal – change, Many people have a need to separate themselves from the real world in order to find peace, restore humor and to rest with their Creator. In this 21st century when space and time are no longer separate more and more of us find our peaceful places in the very midst of change, of emergence, of evolution. A peaceful place is anywhere where life goes on – regardless. Even the place where we view daily news can be our peaceful place of the day because we can choose to find something or someone to awaken the peace of gratitude in us. A peaceful place is now a matter of choice I choose peace amidst life…

  3. Recently, I read article on Facebook on nature. It claimed that in our age of technology overload children are being deprived of the opportunity to interface with nature. That this is an important part of life, to get outdoors, take that walk, go to that body of water. Without it, we are underdeveloped. Perhaps our intelligence is dwarfed, and our character uninspired. For myself, I feel my inner spirit shrivel without it.
    Not all of us live in an area of our country replete with some kind of nature that takes your breath away. Some get to be near an ocean or lake, and see it whenever they want. I have to work at not being jealous of those persons. Others get to live where the seasons of the year are distinct and marked by intense beauty. I envy that also.
    But my lot in life is to live in the Sonoran desert. I have learned to appreciate its own kind of glory. I am surrounded by mountains distinguished by a ruggedness and spectrum of indigos I have never seen anywhere else on earth. Add to that skies that are usually clear and pristine blue, lavishly brushed with puffed clouds. Hundreds of desert plants await my admiration simply for the taking, on a leisure walk in an untraveled spread of land at the end of the pavements.
    The point is, wherever you live there are things to be seen, or nearby things. The beauty of earth is not given to only the “Haves”, so that the” Have Nots” sit on the sidelines and envy. The earth belongs to all of us. Go to it. Feel the love of the Creator in His strokes, structures, living beauty, wherever you look for it,. Enjoy it. And be in no rush. Breathe deeply.
    Today I awake to the realization that earth is here to support us and bring us peace. A gift!
    If we are stuck in a city, then bring nature to you with your imagination like this author has so aptly suggested. What a great gift: nature or the imaginative ability to put ourselves in nature, and feel calmed.

    1. Deborah, I live almost near the Canadian border in a fishing village called “Machiasport.” It’s an Indian name. The special place is called “Rogue Bluffs” about 15 minutes away. We used to live in VT in a beautiful historical village and although we created a Koi pond on our stone patio and could see the stunning mountains and hear a nearby river that ran along the rear of our hill – we missed our “ocean fix.” I agree with you that there is beauty everywhere on earth. Unfortunately, too many don’t realize that. There are so many wonderful hiking trails you can walk along that are free. Pack something to munch on and have something cool to drink. You can experience a great time just walking in the woods and listening to the birds. In my home I have a mural of a tree with birds and nests. I drag in white birch tall branches to place in a large container. Sometimes when flowers aren’t in bloom I’ll cut wild weeds as long as they have interesting shapes. My windowsills are filled with rocks and seashells and sea glass. I make sure I start Spring bulbs in the winter so I can enjoy them when it is darkest and cold. Anyone can do these things. I’ve been out west and was in awe of the colors and structures of the desert. I’m glad you were able to make a trip to see the beauty of New England. You can always visualize what you’ve seen and feel as if you are here.

    2. Deborah, no need to be jealous. The description of your surroundings sounds spectacular, and I’m sure the visual is as marvelous as it sounds. It’s great you take the time out to enjoy it.

An open space for your story

