Best Friend

What do you need in a best friend? The biggest thing is that they don’t judge. They accept you for whatever you are. If you’re fun that day, they love you. If you’re cranky that day, they love you. A best friend is willing to do things you want to do – even if they aren’t their favorite thing. A best friend listens when you need listening, plays when you need playing, and cries when you need crying.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “best friend.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

2 thoughts on “Best Friend”

  1. My best friend’s grandparents knew mine. How? They belonged to the same church. My best friend’s parents knew mine. How? They lived in the same community. My best friend and I went to the same elementary school and high school. We are four months apart in age. I am older and, because my birthday is in November, started school one year before she did. We would see one another in the hallways of the schools or at events but were not in the same classes. Later on when I graduated and had a terrific first full-time job with good benefits and a congenial group of co-workers I told her about a job opening. She interviewed; got the job; and you guessed it: she and I then worked with one another for several years. We had many good times socially. Then she moved out to the West coast while I stayed in New England. Finally, she and her husband retired to New England. We never lost the feeling of being close. Fast forward to 2015. We have always been friends throughout the past fifty-eight years. What does it tell you when a best friend is thoughtful and loving enough to offer you her kidney for a transplant should you need it? I don’t know a better definition of a best friend than that.

  2. Having a best friend demands that I return the favor. It’ ain’t all about me. Best friends seem to like the same things, same kinds of things. Best friends tend to say “Yes” more often than “No.” Best friends can engage in conversation or remain silent – depending. Best friends are there for each other. Best friends are comfortable with each other. And yes, best friends will sacrifice for each other. I know. I’ve been blest with several best friends in my long life.

An open space for your story

