Mental Health

What do you do to protect your mental health? My main habit to protect my mental health is not to watch TV news. I find out everything important anyway, even though I haven’t watched the news in decades. I know people who watch the news channels all day long. Those people are upset and angry all day long. The news is aimed at the reptilian brain, not at higher levels of reasoning.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “mental health.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

4 thoughts on “Mental Health”

  1. what do I do for my mental health…I quit drinking, I see a shrink for depression (because being depressed and NOT seeing anyone for it is a recipe for disaster), I cancelled my subscription to Vogue (because those skinny, airbrushed to perfection models they picture only make me hate my face and body), I meditate, I surround myself with positive people and things.

  2. Laugh a lot; cry a little; think critically; engage in spirited debate; enjoy the company of friends; read much (especially novels, poetry and comic strips); give in to creative urges; look forward to the future and at the same time be alert to what the present demands. Be careful of what goes into the body; take in milieu, surroundings. These are not only “symptoms” of mental health; they are its foundations. Good mental health means being realistic about how we exist.

  3. I protect my mental heath by doing simple things such as talking to friends, being in the company of my dog, watching movies that have a substantial plot, admiring the beauty of nature, reading, listening to classical music and, as of late, coloring—something I used to enjoy as a child and confess I still do.

  4. Clearly mental health is of major importance. I had a very close friend who was a manic depressive and on Lithium. Unfortunately, like a lot of manics she thought she could handle the disease and would go off her Lithium. My husband’s first wife is a manic depressive and has the same problem. According to some of his horror stories it was a nightmare living with her. I also had a beautiful aunt who had periods of depression. Many, many years ago when shock treatment was just being used she was treated while institutionalized. My father told me afterwards she was never the same. Most of the time I’m pretty upbeat and positive. When I do have my moments of depression they’ve usually been caused by family relationship situations. These devastate me because I placed so much value on family and friends. Of course, I’m lucky because I don’t think that’s outside the norm. During those tough times I let my depression take its course for a short time. Nothing helps me more than music and flowers and my pets. The tough part is waking up at night and being unable to fall asleep again because my mind is churning playing it all over and over again. What could I have done to have avoided a problem? What did I do wrong? What can I do to do better? Being fatigued makes it more difficult to think clearly. But as I age I find I’m much more resilient. My expectations have been lowered in terms of ideal families. It’s so much easier to maintain my serenity. After all, if you’ve given your very best, what more can you do? Can’t go around beating yourself over the head mentally. It’s more enjoyable to maintain your equilibrium than get angry and weep. Can’t change the past. Can’t change people. Okay, okay…so it’s easy for me to say that now when all is well.

An open space for your story

