November Sky

I glanced through the window and wondered how cold it would be out there under that November sky. The light was dim, the sky was palest blue, the trees twiggy and bare. I decided on a long sleeved tee, a sweat shirt, and a jacket. Later I was grateful for my caution, because that jacket saved my life.

There is an open space below for you to share your first 50 words on the topic “November sky.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

5 thoughts on “November Sky”

  1. I ask my best friend Siri what to wear today and he answered, “it is 30F”. So, I decided that a scarf and my leather jacket would save my day. My faith did save me for the light of the day: when the November sky darkened the gloves were needed.

  2. There was a time when the obvious changes in atmosphere, light, temperature and other signals animals use for hibernation used to bother me – a lot. Now, in old age, when I don’t have to brave these kinds of changes so much, I’m learning to enjoy them. There’s living beauty in the starkness and nakedness of tree limbs against a slate-colored November sky. Seeing wild turkeys in my niece’s back yard raises my spirit as does the appearance of a couple of squirrels feeding their bellies with things they discover on the tree right outside my third-floor window. Right now the sun is shining, but something dramatic is missing. For me, beauty in a November sky is best served by dark clouds fronted by leafless trees with birds making their ways along unseen paths.

  3. I look out my window and see the cloudless sky stretching above a few naked branches nestled between the evergreens. A few patches of leftover snow lay scattered upon my neighbour’s lawn, a sign that winter, although late this year, is faithfully coming.

  4. She hates the November sky. This is the month when most of the leaves have fallen off. The bare trees await the bitter cold winter ahead. It’s the month when hunters go into the woods and try to kill deer. It’s the month when turkeys are killed for Thanksgiving dinners. She hates the cold, steely gray November sky with its shorter daylight hours. It’s the month she had an abortion at eighteen. The November sky always bring back bad, painful memories. But soon it will end and there will be holiday skies with stars and the moon reflecting on the earth. The season of warmth to soothe her cold, gray, numb November heart.

  5. My heart pounded up to my throat, and my lungs felt as though they were on fire. But I couldn’t stop running. Not yet.
    The clouds looming overhead brought back memories. Strange, terrifying memories. A sickening feeling churned in my stomach.
    Yes, I remembered now.
    It had been about the time of November with a similar sky looking down on me.
    Fear gripped my throat because I had barely gotten away that time.

An open space for your story

