Vacation

Fall photo by Virginia DeBolt. All Rights Reserved

As you know, the government passed legislation requiring that every person take a vacation from the Internet one week a month. The time must be spent in a wildlife preserve. All electronic devices are confiscated at the entrance. Vacationers must spend their time in a luxury cabin surrounded by trees, birds and animals. Walking paths and hiking trails are nearby. You can join the protest against this terrible law today at 1 PM in the Main Street Open Space.

Please use the open space below to share your first 50 words on the topic “vacation.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

2 thoughts on “Vacation”

  1. Vacation: a way to vacate, leave, take-a-break-from things that have occupied my attention, demanded my presence and time, focused my being to chosen people, events, pass-times. I laugh as I describe (to myself) a vacation as turning to suffering people with an attitude of Mercy rather than one of Selfishness. An author I respect, Jon Sobrino, said – and I accept these words: “From a historical perspective, the causes of suffering in the Third World are to be found in the First World. To admit this is a necessary condition for the First World to know itself truthfully.” So — vacation is a way for me as member of the First World to come to know myself “truthfully.”

  2. While on vacation, I purchased gasoline from a service station, with a well known name, and got the biggest surprise ever. The moment I drove away from the gas pump, my car began to sound very strange. I sounded like an old clunker, but it was new at the time.

An open space for your story

