Photography

That Kodak Brownie went everywhere with me. I felt more comfortable watching the world go by through the lens of the camera than face to face. It saved me in so many ways. It let me go places I was too shy to go, it let me talk to people I was not courageous enough to talk with. Photography has been my friend ever since as my cameras and my techniques improved.

Please use the open space below to share your first 50 words on the topic “photography.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

4 thoughts on “Photography”

  1. One of the most interesting classes I’ve taken is a photography course. Photography has always intrigued me, as have painting, drawing, writing. The really old sepia photos fascinate me. They make me wonder what the person experienced during their lifetime so many years ago. I particularly enjoyed the photography course because we were only allowed to take black and white photos. Actually, that was a brilliant exercise because it was challenging to find the perfect subject matter and make the photo truly interesting. We also learned how to develop photos. I took two photos, in particular, that were interesting for different reasons. The first was of two dark horses standing side by side in a field but facing opposite directions. When this was developed it almost appeared to be one animal with two heads at each end because of the shadowing. The second photo was taken from the open doorway of a little house I was renting. My focus was a back garden with a picket fence gate. I had taken several other photos during the course. I learned something about myself. The teacher told me he found it fascinating that I took so many photos with doors or gates opening. I inadvertently gave something about myself away without knowing it.

  2. Photography was Simone’s passion. When she didn’t have a camera in her hands, she felt naked. Her eye for capturing the beautiful and not so beautiful was unsurpassed. It was a talent that was innate in her and it went so far back, that she couldn’t remember the first time she had held a camera in her hands. All she recalled was that it was a German-made camera given to her by her father. She had started out with black and white pictures and many of her shots were mostly of the people she loved and animals. Rifling through those pictures now filled her with a sense of nostalgia because they had been from the perspective of a child. They were candid and innocent; the latter virtue having disappeared a long time ago. Now she only had the memories of that time long gone.

  3. When I look through the lens I get to see more than what the subject wants me to see. I see who they are and I aim to capture their soul. After all when I’m the subject I try to draw people into my imaginary world, the place where everything is beautiful.

  4. Photography is so much more than photographing. Always there are at least two subjects operating: the photographer and the photographee and each has a story to tell. That’s the basis of photo-journaling. Photography is at the heart of family history for good or bad; Photography seeds one’s own lifestory.. I’ll conclude with the reason, that after many attempts to join the horde of gifted photography fans, I’ve made and kept a vow to never, never again photograph a significant event. It was the wedding of my niece. Thank God I wasn’t the only person with a camera because every single picture of people ended up as depictions of them from neck down.

An open space for your story

