Along the Way

the trail

I sat on a bench beside the trail and fiddled with my iPod. For the moment there was nothing playing in my ears. I looked up at the trees, the sky. I heard the birds and the wind in the leaves. I put my iPod away and never carried in on a walk again.

Please use the open space below to share your first 50 words on the topic “along the way” or on some topic suggested by the photo.

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

3 thoughts on “Along the Way”

  1. We stopped to pick up a bottle of wine along the way. “I don’t know why we have to bring wine,” he bitched, I don’t even drink wine. I explained that when someone invites you to a dinner party, it’s customary to bring a bottle of wine and/or a tray of cookies. “Well why can’t it be customary to bring a six pack of Pabst blue ribbon?” He asked as we got back into the car. I spent the rest of the drive wondering how and why anyone invited us anywhere.

  2. “Along the way” is a delightful phrase which connotes movement, evolving, journey, becoming rather than stasis, completion, endings, plateaus, the in-between. It’s alive, full of energy and invitational. It even suggests transformation. Sometimes though “along the way” may become a Sisyphean task and that’s not so delightful.

  3. This is not what you’ll expect along the way. Life as it turns out is not as friendly as the lines and prose you read in a poetry book you picked up at seven years old. Don’t be surprised if I tell you that it might not even has a beautiful ending.

An open space for your story

