My Secret

My secret was complicated to keep. I’d gone where I wasn’t allowed to go. While I was there I’d seen a wild turkey. I was thrilled by the sight of the turkey and not mentioning it to my mother was killing me. But I knew I’d be in big trouble for being where I was. What to do?

Please use the open space below to share your first 50 words on the topic “my secret.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

4 thoughts on “My Secret”

  1. You know that saying, “You’re only as sick as your secrets”? Well my secret (the secret I kept from everyone, the secret I tried to forget) was so dirty and shameful I made myself sick about it…I abused my body with alcohol trying to kill the dirty, diseased part of me, but I did a good job of killing my everything. Keeping my secret a secret wasn’t doing any good.

  2. classic catch 22. like becoming the perfect woman for the man I love only to find that this transformation causes me to lose interest in him. Or… helping a broken man to heal and finding that upon his transformation I am no longer attracted to him. Thus the prolonged agony of loving only broken men or of being broken myself.

  3. Secrets, They are surprises waiting to be revealed. The latest revelation was the joyous announcement of my niece’s engagement to the love of her life. The whole family is enamored of him as well so this was a marvelous occasion. Personally I don’t keep many secrets unless it’s also in the nature of surprise. I love to see smiles and great reactions of others as the secret I’ve nurtured for awhile gets put out there in the open.

  4. “If I told you my secret, it wouldn’t remain a secret any more would it?” She was shy and looked at him from the corner of her eye.
    “That is what friends are for ,to keep secrets.” He urged her , as always , prodding her to speak, so that he could use the juicy gossip later on, for persecution.
    She hesitated, instinctively distrustful of the man she had befriended.
    He put out his hand , She kept staring at it , as if it was some kind of an alien animal.
    Why was he so interested in my secrets?
    “What about yours?” She asked with forced lightness of speech . “Tell us some secrets of your own .”
    Crestfallen, he let the hand fall , and sighed .
    He was a good actor . Then began a long story of woe, fictitious entirely, concocted then and there, and designed , to win the lady’s heart.

An open space for your story

