Tonight

I’m dreading tonight. I have to do something I don’t want to do. It won’t be hard to do, it’s just doing it at night that I dread. You see, I’m a morning person. I’m here early in the morning feeling fine. By tonight I will be dragging. Yet I still will have to gather my energy and somehow perform my duties. I dread it but I can do it.

Please use the open space below to share your first 50 words on the topic “tonight.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

2 thoughts on “Tonight”

  1. Today was one of those days when it seemed impossible to accomplish even the smallest of tasks. I began something only to be interrupted by a need-of-the-moment and this continued throughout the day. A few things begun were necessary to finish before the cock crows tomorrow (anachronism duly acknowledged). That left tonight for accountablility. This was the last duty I assigned myself. Good night….

  2. Tonight it is going to rain.
    Not your friendly pitter-patter, and cheek caressing drizzle .
    It is going to be a fierce outpouring of wrath and bile .
    Rain
    when the sky speaks and you listen .
    Thunder(s)
    , boom, burst and threaten to tear
    the world asunder.
    Lightning spits
    the sky splits
    sizzles
    dazzles
    It is a fearsome
    fireworks of heaven, a lesson
    dancing a terrible dance
    of destruction

An open space for your story

