Wake Up

If my bladder could hold more, I would sleep for 10 hours every night. The need to go to the bathroom wakes me up and there’s no point in trying to go back to sleep after that. Never enough rest. I’m not complaining. I’m grateful the old kidneys are still doing their job.

Please use the open space below to share your first 50 words on the topic “wake up.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

4 thoughts on “Wake Up”

  1. This is the week of “spring ahead” so to wake up biologically becomes more difficult. In one fell swoop the waking-up time plunges us back into darkness and biology cries out, “It’s not time for starting today yet!” Even the robins don’t give the literary call they’re noted for: “Wake up. Wake up, you sleepyhead.” For waking up they remain on the old time. Why can’t we?

  2. Wake up! Wake up you sleepy head! Get up! Get up and outta bed! Live, love, laugh and be happy! That musical oldie is just what I need. It takes approximately one week after daylight savings time moving clocks forward an hour to feel human again. Once that week is over I’m more than ready to enjoy the light of the longer days and the scent of Spring in the air. It’s almost like being reborn – resurrected. My body and soul love to burrow under the covers during the winter. I snuggle on down and love not having the sun coming in through the window to bother me. But soon I’ll be waking up to the sounds of the birds returning back to my gardens. I’ll be full of enthusiasm when I see the yellow and orchid daffodils, crocus, and tulips popping up like mad. I’ll be a crazy woman. Spring fever will hit me so badly I will feel drugged. On a high. Not needing anyone to shout, “wake up!” “Wake up!” I’ll be wide awake, energetic, and almost flying through the air on my Spring high.

  3. We’re all in this together. Let’s cooperate. Make the best out of it, stay positive. Put your voice out there, respect others. Empower others. Motivate, inspire, celebrate each other. WAKE UP to the reality that you and only you control the way your life plays out.

  4. I read somewhere that the day Edison discovered electric bulb , and the night darkness was banished, was the day we rang a death knell for our true quota of restful sleep.
    Nighttime activities grew by leaps and bounds , and the signal the body received from a darkening sky, to rest, sleep and recuperate, was confounded by dazzling lights. We became nocturnal beings , and perpetually tired, yawning , zombies during the daytime.
    “Wake up !” cries my hubby for me to take my morning walk , to watch birds already chirping praises to the Lord.
    “Wake up !” Screams my brain when the milkman rings the bell.
    “Wake up !” I scream at my daughter to catch the early morning bus.
    We are all waking each other up , even as each of us wants to burrow deep down into that warm quilt , and sleep the rest of the day off.

An open space for your story

