Move to Canada

Have you ever looked into what would actually be involved if you decided to move to Canada? Can you just show up, find a job and go about your business, or is there more involved? Canada is a bit cold for me among English speaking countries. I’ve always dreamed of moving to New Zealand. Mountains, ocean, penguins – it’s perfect. But the people in New Zealand don’t want you and just showing up and finding a job is out of the question.

Please use the open space below to share your first 50 words on the topic “move to Canada.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

7 thoughts on “Move to Canada”

  1. I don’t think you can just move to Canada. I mean, you can go, but don’t expect to just show up in some Canadian city and there’s going to be a job waiting for you. I personally wouldn’t move to Canada, it’s cold up there & eating at Tim Hortons isn’t all that.

  2. Move to Canada? The answer is no. It’s a nice place to visit, exhibiting as it does a bit of the UK to which it belongs; a bit of France because of history, a bit of USA which it emulates, a bit of Artic obsession, a bit of the indigenous cultures from which it rose, a bit of its dependence on wide cross-country rail travel for which it’s famous, much injustice due to energy production (latest being shale-oil), a bit of relationship with Alaska and Washington states. But as a citizen of the USA all of this I already have in my sinews, bones, socialization, “way of life.” I’d have to be forcibly emigrated from here and dropped there. There’ll be no move to Canada for me.s

    1. Actually, Canada was granted independence from the United Kingdom in 1867. Our last ties with the British Parliament took place in 1982 with the Constitution Act. Pretty sure that makes us our own country.

  3. I live on the border with Canada, separated only by the majestic St. Lawrence River; just a 15 minute kayak paddle from Brockville, Ontario. It’s a beautiful country with warm welcoming people; I visit Canada frequently. My ancestors, both from France and the Emerald Isle, were the early settlers of both Quebec and Ontario. Their offspring, in the early 1800s, chose to move across the then open borders to better themselves economically. Only a few of my wide ranging relatives ever moved back to Canada; usually a result of marriage. As proud as I am of my heritage, I’m an American and see no reason to move to Canada.

  4. My husband’s maternal and paternal families are from Canada. We had an enjoyable time working on his genealogy and visited the area in Nova Scotia from whence they came. Canada is such a huge country. It’s quite beautiful. One of the things I love about it is the cleanliness of the highways and streets. We’ve never had a bad experience with anyone during our travels there. That’s something we can’t say about England. My husband had just been discharged from a hospital where he had been treated for pneumonia. We had reservations at a B&B for the night before our departure to return home. The gentleman who owned the B&B went out for the evening. What he didn’t mention was where he could be reached in an emergency nor did he mention that he had turned the heat down very low. My husband began to shiver. After trying anything I could to find a thermostat or a phone number somewhere I finally walked to the closest pub and asked if anyone knew his whereabouts. OOPS! Of course, that night he banged on the door and told us we were not welcome. He finally allowed us to stay the night and leave for our flight the next morning. I don’t think he’d make it in Canada where everyone takes great pains to be gracious hosts whether you stay at some lodging or eat at any restaurant. It’s nice to travel and find other countries where the people, in general, really like Americans. We did contemplate relocating to Nova Scotia on retirement for its beauty as well as serenity but decided against it. We do love visiting.

  5. I had to comment on this because I’m actually from Canada, and I’ve lived here all of my life, so I suppose I’m a little bit biased when I say that it’s a great country. I grew up in Toronto and it is not actually that much colder than some of Northeastern States (you guys got even more snow than we did)! It’s true that you can’t just move here, but I can understand why it’s such a hot topic for Americans at the moment. Contrary to popular belief, we have most of the chain restaurants you enjoy (sorry, not just Tim Horton’s) and a lot of the retail chains as well. Keep in mind it’s a really big country, with a smaller population spread out over a greater distance, so moving to some place like the Yukon is definitely going to be different than moving to Montreal or Vancouver. Toronto is a great diverse city that is still worth a visit even if you don’t want to move here, with lots of fun cultural events, and warm, accommodating people.

    Just thought an actual Canadian should give her two cents. 🙂

  6. My friend moved to Canada four summers ago , and she found it a very warm (the people, not the winters ) and accommodating place .
    At first, there were teething troubles. Her trucker husband had to drive through treacherous roads , for days at end , and she would fret at home , while snow piled up in her yard. She studied hard for exams that would ensure a better job and eventually bagged it . They moved to a bigger home and better neighbourhood , last summer, and her son has finally begun liking his school in Toronto. Recently she posted a snap of him in the snow making butterflies with his arms and legs .
    Last week she posted snaps of a sleepover at her home . She looked happy and content.

An open space for your story

