I’m starving

There are starving people in America. But most Americans are far from starving. They are overfed and complacent, familiar with the grocery store and the restaurant where food is abundant. What if you said, “I’m starving,” and meant it. What if you made $2 a day and lived on rice and hoped for a vegetable now and then? What if that was you? Starving.

Please use the open space below to share your first 50 words on the topic “I’m starving.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

8 thoughts on “I’m starving”

  1. I’m one of those over fed, complacent Americans. I say “I’m starving” if the bread basket doesn’t appear within five minutes of me being seated at a restaurant. But the truth is I don’t miss a meal, a snack, or a sugary dessert. And I bitch that “I’m STARVING” if dinner is 25 minutes late or if lunch is lighter than usual. Yeah, I’m a typical American.

  2. Another evening reading alone in the dark. This evening Heathcliffe once again showing his greed has no limits. I’m starving for better company than his. Bronte’s characters wheedle their ways into my dreams, I suspect Heathcliff will haunt me as Catherine does for him.

  3. I’m starving not for food but for emotionally satisfying things. I can’t even begin to get into the subject of historical horrors such as the starving at Nazi concentration camps, pictures of the starving African children, and now the starving war-torn Syrians arriving in their rickety boats. It’s incredibly depressing. I’m starving for a world where these things don’t happen any longer. Where the world would come together in peace and serenity. Where there would no longer be wars fought. Starving for a world where intelligent caring people would ensure that children would not starve or be able to have proper medical care. Starving for a world where there were no murderers, rapists, and pedofiles. Starving for a world where we would not have to wake up every day feeling afraid of what will come next. What will come next?

  4. It’s funny I think that really starving people don’t announce the fact. We see it in their eyes, their skin and bones. When it’s really far along, we can see it in swollen bellies. In food distribution centers all around the world, “I’m starving” doesn’t come in conversation. Maybe a mother might use the words, in third person, as plea with caregivers in behalf of her babies or tiny children, especially in refugee camps all around the world and in impoverished areas of the USA. Usually though the impoverished endure rather than announce their dire needs. It’s these starving who are also most prone to share when given something to relieve the gnawing within their own bodies. .

    IT’S

  5. I am starving?
    Yes , it is important to starve
    Important to have that hunger in the belly
    Important to want
    just a bit more
    and yet again some more
    for in this journey of ours
    this mirage of unfulfilled needs
    is what keeps us going
    the gnawing
    at the pit of the stomach
    the desire
    the dangling carrot of
    this and that wish
    yes I live for tomorrow

An open space for your story

