The First Time

I guess I was in second grade the first time I had a crush. It was on a boy with red hair and freckles. Now that I think about it, I had a crush on a different boy with red hair and freckles when I was in 7th grade. It’s a wonder I didn’t actually marry someone with red hair and freckles. But . . .

Please use the open space below to share your first 50 words on the topic “the first time.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

4 thoughts on “The First Time”

  1. I was in nursery school the first time I had a crush. He was a boy with blond hair and blue eyes. His first name was David (I won’t say his last name on here because he still lives in Brooklyn, as do I). I don’t remember what happened with that…if he liked me back or not (I mean, we were only three), but I can remember being in kindergarten and having a crush on another boy (also with blonde hair) and having my father help me write a note to him telling him I liked him…that boy did NOT like me back, and then I switched gears very quickly and asked my father to help me write a…well, a young child’s version of a hate letter to him. Of course my father would participate in no such thing. But it went like that from there, me having an “if you’re not with me then I’m against you” mentality towards boys (and later on, grown men) I had feelings for. I loved passionately, and/or I hated passionately.

  2. I’m reminded of a song lyric which begins, “The first time ever I saw your face ….” That of course connotes romance, human love, etc. For me however the words and the song brings to mind an inherited dog, a Pekinese. I began a relationship with Tiki due because her previous companion had to leave her for a nursing home, Previously I had never spent “quality time” with a Pekinese. My refrain when we crossed paths in the early days was “You’ve got a face only a mother can love, ” but I said it with gentleness and acceptance to match her best qualities. As time went on I became the mother who loved not only Tiki’s face but her whole self. j

  3. The first time I gave birth to a child was miraculous despite the pain. I’d taken the Lamaze method of natural childbirth classes. I was determined to stay awake and I did. The humorous part of the experience was that I went into the hospital completely excited and looking forward to the procedure. What happened? After being prepped I was placed in a tiny room all alone when I heard a woman screaming repeatedly. A nurse finally came in to check on me and I asked what that was all about. Her response: “Oh, that’s nothing. This is her fifth child.” That’s just what I needed to hear. Someone who was experienced giving birth to her fifth child screaming like a banshee surely knew more than I did. No one mentioned to me that the drug given to induce labor doesn’t give a woman those little resting breaks in between contractions so once you start your ride it’s a roller coaster. During the last part of my following orders to push the doctor told me to “hold it.” What? Hold it? You try stopping an eight pound bowling ball from rolling down the alley. That’s quite a request. Despite the method not being one I would ever repeat, once they placed that 8 lb. 4 oz. warm and damp baby boy on my breast the first time I forgot everything else. An overwhelming feeling of incomparable pure love washed over me. An enormous feeling of awe at bringing forth a new life into this world overwhelmed me. The first time I gave birth was incredible.

  4. I was in my senior year of high school and on the verge of becoming an adult in years only, not maturity. I was naïve and deer eyed about everything however longing to break from my sheltered environment. It was about nine years from today that I embarked on a trip that would broaden my perspective and give me a thirst for knowledge that no one subject could truly quench. It was the first time I went on a trip without any family, to Orlando, Florida for a Biomedical Symposium.

An open space for your story

