Roomie

“Can you live with a roomie?” I asked. I like being alone and don’t often understand how people can enjoy having others around all the time – especially strangers who move in with you as roommates. But he was confident. “Yes, of course,” he said. He looked at me as if I were . . .

Please use the open space below to share your first 50 words on the topic “roomie.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

7 thoughts on “Roomie”

  1. When I first moved to university, I was nervous about having roommates/housemates. I didn’t know any of them and I was expecting there to be some massive clashes. Luckily we became amazing friends and had nothing more than a few stern words to each other. Must be extremely lucky.

  2. Yee Gods! As if the experience wasn’t bad enough as it was she was forced into moving in with a friend temporarily. Marie had to file for bankruptcy when her ex-husband’s business failed. She’d tried to save the business so that her sons might have the opportunity to continue working there. Unfortunately that didn’t work because after paying off the forty-thousand dollar debt her ex owed and had signed for personally, the landlord of the retail space told her he was going to renovate. That meant that the space would be in upheaval. It also meant that traffic on the one-way street would be down in an attempt to avoid the workmen’s trucks parked outside the store. So she went belly up. It’s quite something to be able to say that she and her good friend have remained friends after the experience of being roomies. Neither of them had given any thought to the possibility of her friend’s son coming back home to live. It meant Marie was not only living with her friend but her friend’s son was their new roomie. This was not a good experience and Marie was delighted when it was over and she could get a place of her own again.

  3. She was barely 20, pregnant and for the most part alone. Her boyfriend and father of the child saw her on the sneak. His parents had no use for her or the child she carried. They made no secret of their dislike. She needed a place to stay and as she walked through a fairly decent area of Baltimore, a sign caught her eye “Roomie Wanted.”

  4. A long life practically guarantees a number of roommates will join you on your journey. Some of these relationships will work out; others won’t. Some roommates will put up with your foibles and you, theirs. Then there are the partnerships that simply were not made in heaven; it’s a blessing to come away from these not tarred and feathered. Oh the stories we could tell!

  5. They were three young women sharing a home close to the university campus. As it happened, one roomie was to be the buffer between the other two who didn’t quite hit it off. They were away from their homes and their loved ones and each of them took regular trips to visit their relatives once the semesters ended. It was a challenging as well as an adventurous time for the three of them, but they were able to navigate through their differences and survive the four years it took to get their medical diplomas.

  6. My whole life I have lived with other people. The day when I moved into my own place was bliss. I think it all depends on personality. But, both sides also have their negatives. Sometimes the loneliness became unbearable.

  7. There were four of us . All girls , of course . I just took them in. One large , doe-eyed, almost with a naughty gleam in the eye; other , tall, dark , slim , bespectacled and serious, yet another , small, frail , and with cherubic dimples on her face . I was the last one .
    When I entered, the large room was dimly lit , with very high ceiling , and tall rafters for hanging fans . Even the tube -lights hung on pairs of hanging rods, dangerously low. Thick maroon curtains hung on the doors and windows . There was a whiff of grime and talcum . I gathered the unoccupied bed was mine , so was the bookshelf with pencil shavings rolling about in the dust , on the shelves . A newspaper was spread on the spare bed , some one was reading it as I entered.
    My roomies looked as lost and new as me . Possibly a bit apprehensive or scared even. I didn’t wear glasses , nor had dimples , neither was huge and intimidating. But I was as scruffy and scrawny , and as homesick, as the others. There was no home , nor its material and emotional comforts , all we had was each other .
    I smiled tentatively , and I got smiles back . All was well. The tall , bespectacled girl would immediately glide in , and remove the newspaper( two days’ old, I was to learn later),crumple it into a ball and chuck it into a dustbin kept in a next room , hidden from view . “Basketball”,my heart leapt up. I had found a kindred spirit.

An open space for your story

