Never

“I promise I will never leave you out of anything again.”

“I promise I will never take drugs again.”

Promises are hard to keep. Especially when your life is not in your own control, when you have to make decisions on the spur of the moment, when the drugs in your neck were inserted by someone else.

Please use the open space below to share your first 50 words on the topic “never.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

4 thoughts on “Never”

  1. She always used to use the word “never.” “I’ll never do that again. I never want to see her again. I never want to get a job in town. I never want to meet him.” It was one of her favorite words. But then again she was young. One day she met a woman with whom she clicked. She really enjoyed her company. They developed a good friendship. The best thing that came out of it for her was that her new friend advised her, “never say never!” She finally understood. Many years later she would look back on her life and regret those times she used the word. She learned that when she used the word “never” she wound up inevitably repeating the very thing she swore to never do again. It wasn’t smart to use the word. It took her a while to learn that lesson.

  2. Never is a word about time. Take it apart and what do we have: n-ever or not ever. “It ain’t gonna happen. “Never” is anti-evolution; it a declaration of protest, of resistance. It’s a negative statement. Simultaneously it signals a timid soul or a strong one. I started out saying it’s about time. Why? Because the present is its milieu and either the future in general or some event in the future is denied.
    The person who utters the word with understanding., does it as a rejection of a future, specific or entire. I’m reminded of the existentialist, Sartre, who declared “Hell is other people” or: “If there were no one else but myself, there would be no hell.” Wow!

  3. I’ll never drink again. I’ll never lie to you again. I’ll never steal money out of your purse again. I’ll never keep secrets again. These are some of the promises I made & didn’t keep.

  4. She never said she was perfect. She knew she was short tempered, but she was also good and fun-loving. She never thought of herself as a hypocrite. She could switch moods back and forth, and then deny the contradictions.

    She was adamant about her goodness. She could do no wrong.

An open space for your story

