Elephant

I must figure out the idea of elephants as a symbol of my life. So many elephants have stomped across my line of vision lately. Figuratively, of course. I don’t have actual elephants in my living room. Is it something about strength, memory, empathy? I’m sure it’s a message from the universe, but what is the message?

Please use the open space below to share your first 50 words on the topic “elephant.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

4 thoughts on “Elephant”

  1. As mentioned in one of my earlier contributions here my younger son was totally enthralled with animals, reptiles, birds, fish, and all in nature. We provided him with kittens, puppies, baby goats, rabbits, tropical fish, a guinea pig, and a bird. He would bring home snakes when he found a particularly interesting one in the woods. We never knew what the day’s outdoor exploration would bring. We all learned to bottle feed goats, clean out litter and animal droppings. Many a tropical fish that didn’t make it was disposed of in the usual way: a quick flush of the toilet and a fond goodbye. One house cat accidentally escaped the confines of home and was hit by a speeding car just outside the driveway. There were always respectful burials. The funniest thing I can remember my x-husband saying came during the drive home from a circus. Son #2 had seen his first live elephant and expressed that he might want one for his next pet. That’s where the line was drawn. “I’ll be damned if I’m going to dig a hole for an elephant!” And that was the end of that.

  2. For multiple decades, I’ve been an observer-from- distance of elephants. This has enabled me to appreciate their real beauty and relatedness to me -and yes – you. .. No longer am I one of the blind people who only know what’s closest to them. A living elephant is strong, graceful and beautiful, both outside and in., both physically and emotionally. What it is not nor should be is abused slave or commodity.

  3. The kids saw the tusk.
    It was large . Tip to tip it measured three feet each ,they were told . Yellowing and full of fine cracks.
    A small sticker like plaque just told a date 23rd March 1921.
    “That was the date the elephant was killed ? ” The younger one asked , face upturned , breath fogging the glass case.
    “No, Idiot ! That was the date the ivory was brought here !” The elder one replied , all earnestness.
    I looked at neither.
    Watching the ivory , perplexed . What could have compelled men to fell such a huge animal ?

An open space for your story

