New and Improved

Not so long ago, I was one of those early adopters. Always wanting the newest thing, the latest thing. Now I’m annoyed by all the new. Things change so fast you can hardly figure them out before they change again. I want to watch the wind in the trees and not think about the newest thing. In a cabin in the mountains would be a nice place to do that. Got one to loan me?

Please use the open space below to share your first 50 words on the topic “new and improved.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

3 thoughts on “New and Improved”

  1. Driving out of the Ford Dealership I was told I did not need a key to start the car, just press a button and keep your foot on the break then shift to drive. OK I got that. As I paused before entering the highway, out of the blue a voice asked what do I want to do next. Drive home of course, I said. The voice did not understand my command. Back to the dealership I went to attend the class for my new and improved Ford Escape. All the while thinking I really liked my old car better.

  2. A new and improved me. That’d be really great. In that state and faced with what seems to be almost daily changes, I’d be able to cope or pretty much so. It might even be possible to assist friends, relatives, others to do the same. This morning I came across a quote from Meister Eckhart: “The present is all we have. We have to make the most of it.” I found myself “improving” the thought. We don’t even have the present because it’s in evolution. The present is pausing on its way from the past to a call from the future. It’s the future that must be made the most of. That’s the value of the present – it’s only value.

An open space for your story

