Smoke

The sky looks gray today. Like the sky is full of smoke. But it might be clouds. So the question becomes, do I take the umbrella or not? I’m convinced that if I DO take the umbrella, it won’t rain. So, to bring good luck to my very dry city, I should NOT take the umbrella. Then it will rain, right?

Please use the open space below to share your first 50 words on the topic “smoke.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

5 thoughts on “Smoke”

  1. Often events occur in steps. Take last Sunday for instance. It was a quiet day. My sister had prepared pasta sauce. and was now ready to put on the water to boil for the pasta. We have an electric stove with glass burners. We also have a Keurig coffeemaker. One of the components of the coffeemaker is a 8-cup carafe which we use to fill the Keurig’s water storage when necessary. It is usually kept on the top of the stove. Do you get where this story is going? You’re correct. This day we turned on the “wrong burner.” Smoke from a melted carafe filled the condo. The building evacuated (all except us because we immediately vented the situation). However 911 was called and seven (yes, seven) firemen arrived. Imagine our embarrassment to realize everyone was so put out: fellow residents and the firehouse crew. Do you know the leftovers from a burnt up plastic carafe? Amazing! ‘

  2. I fell in love the moment I saw her and heard her faint little squeak. She was so tiny, the smallest of the bunch. Her coloring was unique to the litter as well. While still a tabby like her mother, she was so many shades of gray and black that there was only one name for her, “Smoke”.

  3. 50 words:
    Smoke… curling, whirling, white, gray, or dark, rising or covering whole valleys like a blanket, whose scent is said to purify, sometimes, and to stink at others. However, here in Idaho, smoke is often the banner under which a hungry beast devoirs mountains of beauty… Summer is wild fire season.

  4. I enjoy learning about Native American Indians. It’s my belief that the word “shamanism” is used in regard to them erroneously because that seems to be a combination of New Age and Wiccanism mixed in with Native American Indian lore. One of the true ceremonies involves the use of a smudge stick which is a combination of sage, cedar and sweetgrass tied into a small bundle. This is then lit and is waved over a person or an object either with a feather or by fanning the scented smoke with one’s hand. The smoke is used to bless either the person or object being “smudged.” When I went to an Indian Archeological Center in New England for a class they were giving on surviving winter in the woods I took the opportunity to buy a smudge stick. I kept it lying on a beautiful piece of pottery in my living room. Every now and then I would light it and enjoy the aroma of the sweetgrass in particular. There’s something magical and healing to me in burning scented candles and the smoky aroma of the smudge stick. Perhaps it’s because that’s what I want to believe.

  5. I live in the Smoky Mountains of NC. Each morning I am greeted with the smoke rising from the chain of mountains that surround my cabin. If you did not know it was rising smoke you would easily think you were seeing a body of water circling in and out of the Appalachians. Awesome experience.

An open space for your story

