The Easy Way

“Isn’t that a hard way to do that?”

“I suppose it is. But I don’t know what I’m doing.” He grinned. “If I had any idea how to do this, I might know the easy way.”

“I know the easy way,” I said.

He stood up and looked me over. Five foot two, a girl in a uniform from the Walgreens down the block. This week my hair was green.

“Okay,” he said. “Tell me.”

Please use the open space below to share your first 50 words on the topic “the easy way.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

2 thoughts on “The Easy Way”

  1. Lately, it’s been “‘Can’t win for losing.” I think the reason is because what looks like an easy way simply isn’t. I think I’m going at a project with the right intentions, the right amount of energy, plans, support . Still something goes wrong and it’s a fizzle. When I was young, I used to hang around with a group who used this saying when things went wrong: “Failed again; I’ll try again.” I’m using it a lot again when the easy way isn’t.

  2. It took Marie a while to finally admit that at this point in her life she definitely had problems opening bottle caps. She found it necessary to ask her husband to take care of opening things after she struggled with them to no avail. Luckily on one of their vacations to the Maryland shore she picked up one of those wooden crab cracking mallets. Ahah! Bang – bang!! Turn cap. Opened. She found the easy way to take care of her senior problem. Solved!

An open space for your story

