Autumn Leaves

This is how old I am. When I was growing up and obsessed with the top 40 tunes on the radio, the songs were by Sarah Vaughan and Frank Sinatra. The rhythms of rock and roll were a few years away. Sarah Vaughan sang songs that rocked my soul. One was “Autumn Leaves.” Each year when the leaves turn yellow and orange around me, I think of this song and her magnificent voice. It’s a good memory to have.

Please use the open space below to share your first 50 words on the topic “autumn leaves.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

6 thoughts on “Autumn Leaves”

  1. I also remember Autumn Leaves, as a child. I took piano lessons from 1955 to 1963 and in that interim, this song was in one of my books. I loved it. Dreamy, lilting, and romantic is how I’d describe this song, and who knows but what it subconsciously created in my mind my love for the fall. It is my favorite season of the year.
    Today in early October in southwest Michigan, the leaves are beginning to turn. For the first time in my life, I am observing them up close. Each tree is different. Sometimes it is the top of the tree that changes color first, and with others, it begins with one or two outer branches. Another tree had golden green leaves in its middle. I have had a ball snapping photos of the half turned leaves all over town in Allegan.

  2. Thinking about glory presented by autumn leaves this early in our Midwestern Fall seemed ludicrous to me. At least 85% of them haven’t even begun to change color yet. Instead then, I decided to accent the future rather than the present. Thinking of “leaves” as verb rather than noun more strongly touches my creative chords. It’s inclusive, relative, evolutionary, historical, full of stories – even futuristic. Think about it. Autumn has barely arrived; Autumn leaves…..

  3. AUTUMN LEAVES

    Mrs. Jameson was teaching her class about the Four Seasons.
    She said “December 21 Winter comes, March 21 Spring comes,
    June 21 Summer comes, and September 21 Autumn comes”.
    A clever boy raised his hand and said” I guess that means that
    on December 20 Autumn leaves!”

  4. After several long stretches of unusually warm, dry weather and suffering from drought conditions we finally had a glorious full day of steady rain. It wasn’t heavy enough so that the earth couldn’t absorb it. It was just right. No doubt caused by the lingering effect of Hurricane Matthew way up here in mid-western Maine. This year is filled with many firsts since we downsized and moved into our one level home situated on two wooded acres at the base of a mini-mountain. We moved a good distance away from a very different northeastern Maine where we could enjoy water views daily. This morning I woke up hearing a good breeze blowing through the many deciduous trees surrounding our new home. The air smelled deliciously sweet. I could hear the breeze rustling the multi-colored leaves. It is always exactly close to my mother’s birthday on October 13th each fall in New England that the leaves are in full-fledged autumn colors. As I sat at my desk with my hot cup of morning coffee I was easily distracted by the shadows playing outside my large window. The wonderful fresh fall breeze encourages the leaves to gently fall to the ground. They flutter and lie in the front cottage garden as if exhausted from producing one of the most beautiful season’s shows of the year. I’m not going to think about the prospect of raking just yet!

  5. Boys lean on the rake
    taking a break
    Sharing a smoke
    and a lewd joke

    Mellow weather
    the leaves wither
    turn orange and red
    paths fire streaked

    Swallows fly in
    A- visiting

  6. “Autumn Leaves” for me, reminds me of the yearly trips the family would take up north to view the “colours” in all their glory. There was nothing more beautiful than to find the perch we visited that gave us that fantastic, incredible, wonderful, glorious beauty of the Autumn Leaves. There’s nothing like it.

An open space for your story

