Dance me to the end of love

It was an ordinary day in the park. I was sitting on a bench in the sunshine, reading “The Museum of Extraordinary Things.” A group of about 20 young people walked down the path, humming “Dance Me to the End of Love.” They set up in an open space, formed a semi-circle and began to sing in earnest. I put my book down and listened for almost an hour. They sang nothing but Leonard Cohen songs. When I got home I learned he died. I felt like I’d been in the park of extraordinary things.

Please use the open space below to share your first 50 words on the topic “dance me to the end of love.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

2 thoughts on “Dance me to the end of love”

  1. Poetry set to music. Who can forget hearing “Dance Me To The End of Love” in “Scent of A Woman” while seeing Pacino, acting as a blind man, dance the sensuous tango? It was so powerful. Whenever I hear the sound of Leonard Cohen’s deep, resonant voice vocalizing I can’t help but become very emotional. The words in that particular work of his are very moving with a slow tempo/beat which evokes the stages of life and love. It’s particularly beautiful. This song is somewhat reminiscent of the song in Fiddler On The Roof of which I’ve written whereby the words speak to how quickly life goes by.

  2. It’s called being in solidarity with, I think. I’m deeply involved with Santa Chiara Child Care Center in one slum of Port au Prince, Haiti. It’s been in existence for one year only with only word of mouth and personal encounter to bring abused, abandoned children of all ages; also children of destitute homeless parents who’ve endured two catastrophes. Yesterday I viewed a U-Tube of young children playing homemade instruments, singing, dancing, marching around the third residence in one year (they keep outgrowing where they are). The song wasn’t “Dance Me to the End of Love” but it could have been. They celebrated in Creole to “The Miracle of God’s Presence.”

An open space for your story

