Ear Worm

Sometimes you hate those ear worms. Like when you come out of It’s a Small World at Disneyland and can’t sing anything else for 2 weeks. But sometimes you get a song in your head that’s so pleasing you enjoy the ear worm. “Christmas Island” is mine today, and I’m really digging it. Can you hear me humming?

Please use the open space below to share your first 50 words on the topic “ear worm.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

4 thoughts on “Ear Worm”

  1. When Leonard Cohen died she kept hearing his deep voice singing, “Dance Me To The End of Love.” She could not get it out of her head. She could not get over losing this talented poet-vocalist extraordinaire. It was a form of mourning and took more than a week to stop playing in her mind. She was haunted by the song and the man.

  2. Ear worms are like gramophone records stuck at one place , going over and over again . They irk me , and disrupt my train of thought , and speech .
    My kids reprimand me , “Mom , seriously , not those lines again . ”
    It requires conscious effort ( and energy ) to shut it (and oneself ) up.
    Phew ! I hate ad jingles .
    Moreover I hate praising some thermal underwear, in words of undiluted adulation (“Sooo Hottt!!”) , when I am whisking eggs and toasting bread for breakfast , on an icy winter morning , when I actually need to be grumpy for having abandoned my “oh so hott ” bed.

An open space for your story

