Childhood idol

Many people have talked about Carrie Fisher as a childhood idol. For my generation her mother Debbie Reynold was the idol. For me personally, I idolized Esther Williams when I was a child. She was a swimmer, as I was, and she could do magical things in the water. I wanted to do everything in the water that Esther Williams could do.

Please use the open space below to share your first 50 words on the topic “childhood idol.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

2 thoughts on “Childhood idol”

  1. Did I have a childhood idol? I cannot remember.
    Perhaps it was Sister Ernestine in her flowing black and blazing white wimple.
    Or Mrs. Blakemore, Jessie my mother called her, with hair that she sometimes released from its tight bun to flow like liquid silver over the second-floor porch rail, and brushed and brushed and brushed.
    It might have been Diane Kelechek, who wore a little bow that coordinated with her pleated skirt and sweater, the bow perched right at the place where her teased-up hair met her smooth, even bangs.
    Or my teenage girl cousins who wore bright red nail polish, and who painted m nails once when my mother was away having yet another baby.
    Television was a rare thing in our house. Movies happened rarely if at all. So if I had idols they had to be in my neighborhood, my school or my family.
    Perhaps, after all, that was the best place to look for them.

  2. I’ve been a DEVOTED FAN of John Davidson since I first saw him on the 60’s show “THAT WAS THE WEEK THAT WAS” (TW3).
    I became SO CRAZY about him that I pasted his picture, with those adorable dimples and shaggy hair, onto my 7th grade notebook, kissing it daily.

An open space for your story

