Your own two feet

I remember my mom saying, “use your own two feet,” when I complained about wanting to go somewhere she didn’t have time to take me. Way back then, I didn’t realize what a gift it was to have two good feet and two good legs that would propel me through space and take me places with ease. Feet, knees, legs, I want to thank you for your service. You’ve done well.

Please use the open space below to share your thoughts on the topic “your own two feet.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

5 thoughts on “Your own two feet”

  1. My mother says “I wanna see you stand on on your own two feet!” Meanwhile she takes every dollar I make (unless I manage to hide it from her), has my credit cards in her wallet (to protect me from myself…I admittedly have a drinking problem, but I’ve been sober over 4 years), and flat out refuses to trust or forgive me. She doesn’t really want me to stand on my own two feet…she wants to shackle me to the radiator so I can’t move; she wants to hobble me.

  2. Your own two feet are the ones that exist in your world. You use them in a physical sense and a mental one as well. Your own two feet will allow you to walk places, but in a mental context standing on them is necessary for success. Take control of your life.

  3. I stood at the very top of the mountain exhausted yet exhilarated as I looked below barely making out the village I left behind. I have been hiking for a few years now. What started out as a way to clear my mind became my weekly ritual. How awesome to ponder just how far these two feet of mine can travel.

  4. You need to thank
    Your own two feet
    They make you think
    and take a stand
    They give you a spine
    a reason to opine
    When you stand, you walk
    Your thoughts, you can talk
    You can speak
    not squeak
    They take you places
    they teach you the paces
    you learn to be swift
    when you’re on your feet

An open space for your story

