Twenty Below

When I first moved to New Mexico many years ago, I told the gas station attendant (yeah, that long ago) to be sure the car’s antifreeze was good to 20 below. He looked at me like I was crazy, but, no, I was just from Colorado. You never hear much about antifreeze these days – have cars changed? Have radiators changed? What’s the story on antifreeze in 2017?

Please use the open space below to share your first 50 words on the topic “twenty below.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

1 thought on “Twenty Below”

  1. Twenty below, I heard the weather report, better than forty below with the wind chill factor. Yup, can you believe it was 40 below yesterday. The ice on the lake was so thick that the ice fishermen were building fires in their shacks to keep warm. Well, what part of the world are you in my Internet friend asked. I replied as though it was a known fact, the Northeast kingdom of Vermont.

An open space for your story

