The First Thing

I seem to miss a day now and then posting on the blog lately. I don’t mean to. Maybe it’s the political situation, or maybe it’s me recovering from 2 surgeries in quick succession, but this blog isn’t the first thing on my mind some days. If, by some horrible omission, I do miss a day, please feel free to dig into the archives. Writing prompts are everywhere.

Please use the open space below to share your first 50 words on the topic “the first thing.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

3 thoughts on “The First Thing”

  1. The first thing I do every morning is have my mug of coffee while checking the news. I know I should change my M.O. because the political situation is even more distressing than at first. At this point in life, why should I be as concerned but I am. There’s no getting away from the madness of the entire thing. I don’t even care about playing my music and singing out loud because I feel too desperate to be as full of gusto as has always been my habit. I’m hoping that there’s a lot we don’t know about going on behind the scenes because “they” want to be sure when they “nail” Trumpty Dumpty it’s successful and quick. The incredible audacity of Trumpty Dumpty’s negative body language yesterday with Angela Merkel! Loved the look on her face, however. So incredulous that he’s such an absolute idiot. And loved her comment which put him in his place. Ah well. Maybe the first thing I’ll do every morning as soon as this last snowfall melts is go outdoors to have my cup of coffee and listen to the birds. Oh, and by the way, I’m not a Democrat or Republican. We need some new young and intelligent blood in our government. People who care about our country and not their egos and pockets at the expense of the rest of us.

  2. The first thing l do is to count my blessings. This is amazing because this always makes my day great. Blessings makes us who were are. Blessings blessings what would we do without them.

An open space for your story

