Show Me

He rang the doorbell. He no longer had a key.

His father answered – glaring and unmoving.

“I’m clean,” he said. When there was no answer, he said, “Can I come in, please? I just want to see mom.”

“Show me,” his father said.

He rolled up his sleeves, his pant legs. He took off his shoes and spread his toes apart for inspection. “I’m clean,” he said again.

Please use the open space below to share your first 50 words on the topic “show me.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

3 thoughts on “Show Me”

  1. Sebastian quivered as he made his report.
    Science – We did quiz. I 102 percent
    History – We did read chapter. I finish first and wrote answers to questions. All correct.
    English – We did grammar lesson. Adjectives. Describe words. No grading.
    Sebastian hesitated, just slightly, and his father exploded.
    Mathematics! Report Mathematics! Show Me!
    Tears streaming. Hands trembling. Sebastian removed the math papers from his tiny Hello Kitty backpack.
    97 percent. Not perfect. Not the best in class.
    The rest is unrepeatable.
    Humiliation is much worse in Mandarin.

  2. Show Me: The hurt and disapointment from the past were hard to overlook but after close inspection, in deed his father found no scars or sign of needles. Donny was not asking for money and he did not intend to stay. Tears welled up in his fathers’ eyes and with arms outstretched he pulled Donny into his chest. He motioned for his wife to hurry into the entry way as he choked out, “Welcome home son. We have missed you sorely”.

  3. “Show me the way to go home. I’m tired and I want to go to bed. I had a little drink about an hour ago. And it’s gone right to my head.” (Lyrics by: Emerson, Lake, and Palmer circa: 1925) My mother always used to sing that and laugh. It certainly was a more benign time when written when compared to the drug problems many areas of our country are experiencing today. From my perspective, I certainly feel like singing those lyrics after reading the updates on Trumpty-Dumpty. I feel like having a drink and going to bed with the pillow over my head until his term in office is over.

An open space for your story

