Redhead

I sat down in the restaurant with my redheaded friend. Across from us was a tot in a highchair with red hair of the same pale hue. And down two tables was a curly headed girl with red hair of the same hue. The waitress (who wasn’t a redhead last week) had bright red hair. The woman busing tables had red streaks in her dark brown hair. My gray hair just didn’t belong.

Please use the open space below to share your first 50 words on the topic “redhead.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

2 thoughts on “Redhead”

  1. What a way to end the day. I thought it would be relaxing to go and have a drink and some laughs with Mary, Joe and Alan before heading home. But instead of chilling out, that annoying bartender just ruined my day. Count to five. I’m about to explode. One, two, three, four, five. I hate it when someone calls me Red. What if I decided to color my hair blue or pink? Would he have called me Blue or Pink? I’m not a color. My name is Monica.

  2. Seven year old John kept talking about his friend Blaise. “He is so cool.” he exclaimed. “How so”, I said. “Well… he only eats a few things.” My curiosity was getting the best of me,” like what”, I said . John scrunched up his cute little face and told me that Blaise only eats peanut butter, bread, milk and cheerios. I wanted to know more about his friend, like why is he called Blaise. That’s easy John said, “he has red hair.” Looking up at me he said, “would you like to meet him?” Yes, I said and off he went to find the little red head, Blaise.

An open space for your story

