Wait

Wait, it’s only Thursday? No, it must be Friday by now. I need to sleep late tomorrow. I need to play with my dog in the park. I need to invite my pals over for dinner and a couple more episodes of “Jessica Jones.” I cannot wait for more days, it must be Friday now, today. Immediately.

Please use the open space below to share your first 50 words on the topic “wait.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

2 thoughts on “Wait”

  1. I wouldn’t say I’ve had a particularly hard life but I did a lot of waiting for good to come. Wait for Santa to eat his cookies. Wait for my parents to stop fighting. Wait for my paycheck to live again. Wait for the right man. Wait for the right moment. But with every passing year, I turn a new cornerstone of wisdom. I realize now, the waiting game is a fatal one. Now, I know to make things happen, you can’t wait, you have to want, will, and wake-up. Rise to the opportunity and…

  2. No, you must wait
    long and arduous
    patience, for fate
    will take its course

    and rivers run
    to their source
    looking for fun
    some solace

    Wait and watch
    the pining
    and pinning
    I’ll but snatch

    just a moment
    like a drop of dew
    from firmament
    fleetingly see you

    that’ll slake
    my thirst
    don’t break
    my bubble burst

    I live in a land great
    full of dreams
    but I wait , and wait
    stifle screams

An open space for your story

