Today, We Celebrate

This is my last day in physical therapy. Today, we celebrate my release. The way that happens at the PT place I go to is with a gong. When you’re finally deemed well enough to go out on your own they let you bang a gong. Bam. You’re free. Well, you’re free except for the need to continue to walk and go to exercise class every day for the rest of your life. Good health is work, people.

Please use the open space below to share your first 50 words on the topic “today, we celebrate.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

8 thoughts on “Today, We Celebrate”

  1. This prompt will allow me to share in Virginia’s joy. She’s completed her physical therapy while I’m still undergoing mine, but feel I’ll also celebrate when the time comes. It’s been a long haul for me. I like the gong reference. Maybe I’ll give that suggestion to the therapists at the Center I attend so we can all go out with a celebratory Bang! Congrats, Virginia!

  2. Yeah , today , we celebrate . Virginia , this is great news indeed . Best wishes to Claire , who disappeared for some time . Now that you have resurfaced with your blogs , I am sure you will swim to the shore too. Yeah , today , we celebrate the resilient spirit of two fabulous women . Hurray!!

  3. A day late but … congrats! A reminder that I’d written about the Paul Winter seven foot “Sun Gong” played during each Winter Solstice concert at the Cathedral of St. John The Divine in New York. I’d like to imagine all of us having an opportunity to hit that gong in celebration of Virginia completing her physical therapy. Then we can all have a go at a second round of hitting the gong in cheering Claire on. Survivors both!

An open space for your story

