Magic

“It looks like magic, but it’s simply a matter of practice. You put in your 10,000 hours, you can do magic.”

I was there to learn to code. In 3 days. Why was the instructor talking about 10,000 hours?

I raised my hand. “I just need a job,” I said. “I don’t need magic.”

The instructor smiled. She  . . .

Please use the open space below to share your first 50 words on the topic “magic.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

1 thought on “Magic”

  1. Magic happens everyday . We just have conditioned ourselves to be blind to it .

    I have noticed , especially, when things go wrong , you see magic , in and around your lives . The other day, after a sleepless night at the hospital , tending to infirm elderly, and returning home , bleary eyed , I saw the a most eye-catching , brilliant green -blue bird , with a needle tail . The bird even had a mascara / eyeliner sort of mark around the eyes . It was early morning , and the sun’s rays were refracting into a golden haze, I almost thought I had seen a vision .

    Later , I looked up in my handy guide , and discovered the bird’s name- small bee-eater. It was a revelation , a magical moment , as if God was telling , “All is not lost “.

An open space for your story

