Glad

“He was a mean son of a bitch and I’m glad he’s dead.”

I didn’t know my grandfather. Nobody, including my mother, ever spoke about him. One time I asked my Uncle Dave about him. That was his answer.

When something like this lives in your family history, how does it affect the generations that come after?

Please use the open space below to share your first 50 words on the topic “glad.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

1 thought on “Glad”

  1. “I am glad you came.” She spoke from her lips .
    Her eyes spoke a different language. They said that she was not welcome , and that she had chosen a wrong moment to arrive .
    “Please stay for dinner “, actually meant , please make yourself scarce , we are going to have dinner . In other words , scram , go away .
    I had encountered this dichotomy between words and purpose , ages ago , when I was working in a hospital of repute. The morning matron came and was promptly upset with me . A team of oncologists had taken a round around midnight , and had prescribed fresh frozen plasma for a patient . I had taken lots of trouble to procure and administer them.

    “No, that was not done . Those orders were not to be followed , they were to be written on her papers. You wasted two pints of good plasma. Expensive too.”

    Seeing my flummoxed look , she said , trifle exasperated ,”For heaven’s sake girl !! Can’t you see , she is gasping !! She won’t last long . Terminal case of carcinoma . Why do you think the doctors came so late at night to see her?”

An open space for your story

