I Gave

I gave to the United Way. I gave to the Boy Scouts and the Girl Scouts. I gave to the American Cancer Society and the American Heart Association. I gave to Go Fund Me. I gave to nonprofits and charities. I gave to funds for tornadoes, hurricanes, floods, and fires. Then I gave my taxes to the US government.

All that giving helped others, but my taxes help me.

Please use the open space below to share your first 50 words on the topic “I gave.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

2 thoughts on “I Gave”

  1. I gave and I gave and I gave. From the moment we met I intuitively did not like the woman my son introduced as his “girlfriend.” Neither did his brother. Neither did his grandmother. It was all intuitive on our parts. We could not put our fingers on it but we knew it was there. When my son finally married her we all tried exceptionally hard to be supportive. From the very beginning I gave them gifts and treated her as if she were my daughter. I always thought of them. I gave my time. I babysat their two daughters happily. I gave my heart. At first my daughter-in-law wrote extra little lines in b’day cards thanking me for raising such a nice man. Eventually she began to make snotty remarks to me. I absolutely didn’t understand it. I gave, however. I kept my mouth shut to avoid any arguments. I gave until it all exploded. One day…..

  2. I gave you a name: Jonathan.
    I gave you brothers: four.
    I gave you my heart: one.
    I gave all I knew to give,
    and then you were gone.
    An instant, an ice storm, a truck,
    a phone call. That was all, except
    this wound in my heart,
    this hole in our family,
    this loss of one, this
    Jonathan.

An open space for your story

