Midday Chardonnay

I knew why she insisted on a midday Chardonnay. She was bored. Her life bored her. There was nothing to do alone in her house. If she had a tipple at lunch she would nap after. Take up a few hours. Break up the empty day. Then one day . . .

Please use the open space below to share your first 50 words on the topic “midday Chardonnay.” Thanks to Lucky Life for today’s prompt.

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

2 thoughts on “Midday Chardonnay”

  1. “After that run, I need a midday Chardonnay,” Jen told Gordon as they jogged up the steps to their house. Then she noticed the front door ajar, and heard their teenaged son inside scream, “No! What are you doing?”
    They both burst through the front door to find. . .

  2. Midsummer Dream

    A tray with a rose, a glass,
    a wicker chair under a maple tree,
    and me in my nightgown because
    I have nowhere I need to be and nothing
    I need to do. In the basket at my feet green
    glass sweats with chill beneath crisp linen.
    My feet, bare and nestled in soft grass,
    are damp with the leftover morning dew.
    Even though
    it is only noon I pull the cork,
    pour gold into crystal,
    slide down in the cushions
    and sip
    and sip
    and sigh.

An open space for your story

