Jack

“Ready? Jumping jack arms,” the instructor said.

I raised my arms to the rhythm, my feet not leaving the ground. How long had it been since I could actually jump up and down? A long time.

Did I miss being able to jump up and down? Should I mourn that loss from my youth? I decided no, I did not and should not. Up go the arms!

Please use the open space below to share your first 50 words on the topic “jack.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

2 thoughts on “Jack”

  1. I am not sure I even enjoyed exercise when I was in my 20s. Seemed like at that time, I just had alot of extra energy that I didn’t know what to do with so it seemed logical to bounce around in an aerobics class. It was the fashion to be at the gym, wearing bright colored, lycra clothing. Now, I wouldn’t be caught dead wearing bright colored lycra anything but if I were dead at least I could lie down and nobody would be yelling at me to keep up with the beat of the never ending music.

  2. I sprained my back last week . Thanks to the “jumping jack ” moves in the dance class. The instructor , Monica breezes through them , zephyr like , effortlessly . We huff and puff , with mistimed steps , trying to keep up.

    That was when my back threw in the towel . Now , thanks to modern day muscle relaxants and painkillers , I am on my feet , doing my chores , but dancing seems a pipe dream . Meanwhile, the whatsapp alert keeps me updated as to all the jumping jack manoeuvres I have missed last week . Aargh !!

An open space for your story

