Life Changing

In my long lifetime I’ve been through many life changing events. An early one I recall was missing the school bus at age 6. I remember running after it yelling, but it went on without me. I don’t think I’ve been late to anything since then.

Please use the open space below to share your first 50 words on the topic “life changing.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

One thought on “Life Changing”

  1. A life changing event occurs surreptitiously . Like a predator springing on you . It charges softly , out of the blue , without warnings , and doesn’t give you reaction time .

    For me , it was my grandmother’s death . Seeing her lying there , “ready to go”, swathed and bandaged , suddenly hit like a jackhammer . I went falling headlong into a bottomless , dark pit . People were wailing , weeping , but to me , it was like a deafening silence . The ringing of the ears after a bomb-blast kind of effect . In a daze , haze , the world passed by . People came , said kind words and went . It was strange and numbing . I was , or felt I was, suddenly alone . On my own , to fend for myself .

An open space for your story

