Keep It Up

“Keep it up, Buttercup,” Mom yelled from the bleachers. I hated it when she called me that. So embarrassing. I trotted back to my spot in right field amid general cheers. I’d made a catch – an out! I’d thrown to second base for another out. I was a freaking hero and my mom still called me Buttercup. I bent my knees and took . . .

Please use the open space below to share your first 50 words on the topic “keep it up.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

One thought on “Keep It Up”

  1. “Keep it up !!” The teacher wrote in red ink , bold letters , ending with a smiley and some x,os. The kid learnt later , they were kisses.

    She kept staring at those words , then sighed .

    “That means no more fun ” The teacher was stern , bespectacled , cross armed , intimidating , like all teachers .

    “I will now forever have to do well , won’t I ?” Shoulders drooping , she slunk away downcast . The burden of success. The burden of expectations , the unending scrutiny under limelight. It almost seemed as if she was “keeping it up”, the burden on her tiny head .

    She walked that way till the door , where she chanced upon two friends of hers giggling and chasing each other , breathless frenzy of playtime. She looked at them , and then at the paper in hand , stuffed it in her satchel , dumped it at the doorstep, and hopped-skipped her way out , shouting at the “thief” to catch her.

An open space for your story

