The Blue Lobster

“No, it’s not a painted crawdad,” she said for maybe the millionth time. “It’s a real lobster and it’s blue.”

“Naaa,” he said, “that just a funny lookin’ old crawdaddy. What did you pay for that silly thing? Too much, I bet.”

“You can laugh if you want, but you won’t be laughing when I open my seafood place. I’m calling it The Blue Lobster. That blue boy right there is going to be in the front saying hello to every customer. They’re gonna love it.” She smiled with the sort of smile that could convince a customer to order the most expensive item on the menu and carefully placed the small tank with the lobster in it on the bankers desk. “Now,” she said, “let’s talk about how much money I need.”

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “the blue lobster.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

4 thoughts on “The Blue Lobster”

  1. Thoughts upon the London Poor

    My informant at the curiously named The Blue Lobster told me that when the Irish street-sellers quarrel “they’ll kick like devils, and scratch, and bite, like women or cats, instead of using their fists”. He wished “all the drunkards were teetotallers, if it were only to be rid of them.”

  2. During the discussion of money we got a call from Gordon Ramsay saying that he would be willing to back the restaurant.

    He heard about the adventure and agrees that any placed called “The Blue Lobster” should have the blue boy front and center. He just wants to make sure we don’t server the blue lobster until we offer the dinner on ebay. Blue Lobsters are very rare.

  3. Yancey, thanks for the mention on your top blue blog. I was staring at my daughters blue lobster when I came up with the topic. He’s looking like he’s about to molt again. A few months ago, “he” laid hundreds of eggs and carried them around the aquarium in his tail.

An open space for your story