Catnip

Simba and Catnip Mousie

Sunflower seeds are like catnip to her. She can eat a whole sack of the salty things in a day. The way to keep her happy on a road trip is to buy her a big sack of sunflower seeds. If she isn’t eating sunflower seeds, she’s sleeping. Either way it’s a quiet drive.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “catnip” or on some topic suggested by the image.

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

2 thoughts on “Catnip”

  1. When you run out of weed, the classic phrase “desperate times call for desperate measures” finds new relevance. I dangled the small pouch of catnip from my thumb and pointer finger. My best friend would soon become my lab rat. “Grab the bong,” I demanded with a devious smirk.

  2. Catnip was the only way to get my once gentle kitty from tearing my hand apart. Foam dripped from her jaws as she edged toward me, familiar with the crinkle of the cellophane. I was either right or dead wrong maybe not dead but certainly shredded. I hoped neither option.

An open space for your story