Giddy

The giddy music backing up the ad implied that I would be happy, happy, happy if I just used this product. I just watched Extreme Home Makeover and thought that the house revealed after the big “Move that Bus” moment would be much less impressive without the accompanyment of the huge orchestra playing a full-out crescendo to elevate our emotions. Maybe I’m feeling jaded tonight, but all this musical manipulation is irritating. I wondered how moved I would be to buy, or to enjoy particular shows, if I turned off the sound and watched with captions instead. Just the facts. I decided . . .

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “giddy.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

4 thoughts on “Giddy”

  1. “Basso Profundo,” he corrected when I said he had a wonderful bass voice.
    He said it with pride, as you would when you describe any great instrument.
    It must be so tough to make it as a singer. Here was this full, rich, unusual voice working in a department store far removed from the music scene.
    He walked with a slight limp and I wondered to myself if that effected his career path.
    “Did you overdo it this weekend?” I inquired. “Too much yardwork?”
    He patted his thigh and said he fell from a horse when he was young.
    “I didn’t even get giddy-yap out of my mouth, he took off as soon as I said giddy. Since I wasn’t ready, I took a good tumble.”

  2. She was positivly giddy
    as the car was skidding.
    She had swerved to miss a kitty
    and run over an old biddy.

    Before your heart is stricken
    and you become severly sickened
    check with your local wiccan
    to know a biddy is a chicken.

An open space for your story